WWW Wednesdays – October 3, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

Argh, sorry for the previous messed-up post! Alright, let’s start this again. You’ll see I have my reasons to be messed up…

This is going to be a condensed version of my weekly update because my DSL connection has been slowing dying for the past week and I have very limited access to the internet from my computer. I’m working on a replacement solution so in the meantime, I focus most of my internet access on work projects and get to blogging whenever it fits.

My bookshelf

The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot– What I’m currently reading
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. I like it so far and I had no idea about HeLa cells, their origin and their importance for modern medecine, so this is a fascinating subject.

– What I recently finished reading
Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury. What a lovely book about summer for two brothers, detailing what happens in this small town of Illinois on a daily basis. I love the poetry Bradbury uses to describes every little scene, the humor, the sadness and the frightful moments. It’s a great book to remind you of your own childhood and how you used to spend your summers. I definitely recommend this read, especially anytime during the summer months.

– What I think I’ll read nex
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore. This is for my book club meeting at the end of this month and it looks absolutely hilarious.

My kids’ bookshelf
Mucky Moose by Jonathan AllenWhat they’re currently reading
Mucky Moose by Jonathan Allen. Mucky Moose is the biggest moose in the forest and the biggest wolf in the forest decides to eat him for dinner. Unfortunately the wolf doesn’t know Mucky Moose really, really stinks. So the wolf tries different things, like putting a clothespin on his nose, or wearing a gas mask. My kids LOVE this story and have asked for it almost every day for the past week.
Green Wilma and Green Wilma, Frog in Space by Tedd Arnold. We’re big fans of Tedd Arnold, especially his Fly Guy series and we recently discovered the Wilma books, which are not so recent. Poor Wilma is a normal girl who one days wakes up as a very green frog. This seems to bother everyone from her parents to her teacher but her, as she embraces her new life as an amphibian. Two very absurd, yet very funny stories.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

11 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – October 3, 2012

  1. I’m reading “Gone Girl” by Flynn (can’t remember the author’s first name). It’s about a wife who goes missing, and of course the husband is the first suspect. It’s a psychological thriller. Really good so far. I would like to read that book about Lacks. I’m sure it’s interesting.

    • Oh, spooky story. Don’t tell me how it ends but I do want to know if it’s really good. As for Henrietta Lacks’ book, I’m sure you would really like it as a medical professional. It’s fascinating to hear that just a few cancer cells were the starter of many, many recent medical discoveries, including the polio vaccine. There’s a lot to discuss when it comes to ethics for the greater good.

  2. I’m between books right now. My yard comes first. Time to do ‘fall’ cleaning (which sad to say, is going to take some time). But I have a huge To-Read list to get to when I finally get done in a couple weeks.

    • Funny, I was just doing some yard work too. But at least I do that while the kids are around so I wouldn’t be able to read anyway. I’ve wasted so much time sitting around waiting for a DSL connection throughout the day, I should grab my book and read.

  3. Glad you’re liking Henrietta Lacks. I found the science fascinating too.

    Good luck with your DSL. How frustrating that can be!

    • I can tell you, ATT is about to lose my business, refusing to credit me for lack of internet service because they blame my modem, which they want me to replace for $100. It took me 5 minutes of Google search to realize many, many people have been having the same problem, changed their modem and still didn’t get internet connection, only to be advised by ATT to upgrade to UVerse. Yep, I see their plan and I don’t want to be part of it!

  4. Mucky Moose sounds LUCKY to be so odoriferous. :D

    Hope you get your internet sorted out in short order.

  5. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a comment