A lot to be thankful for

It’s been ages since I wrote a post and I’d love to say that I’ll do a better job in the future, but it’s impossible to predict how busy life can be, especially with the holidays coming up. So what have I been up to these past few weeks? Months? I’ve mostly been working on expanding my career opportunities in the teaching field, by studying and taking several exams to work towards my teacher certification. My hard work has paid off since I passed my three exams with perfect or almost perfect scores and I can now get my foot back into the educational field. This is only the first step of a long process, during which there will be more studying and more tests to take, and even larger obstacles to overcome down the road, but I know it will be worth it in the end for my kids and myself.

Besides studying, I’ve spent more time on creative activities, including drawing and painting for myself, as well as teaching two art classes at my kids’ school as a volunteer. My goal is to create enough artwork and crafts to make them available for sale online sometime in early 2015. I’ve also recently created five new nature photography calendars for 2015 (the five themes are a year in Southern California, bees and other insectswater lilies, flowers and blooms, and water). The good news is that you can save 65% off on any of my calendars this weekend, so if you’re looking for a unique gift this holiday season, this is a great opportunity.

2015 photo calendar on San Diego

2015 photo calendar on San Diego

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving with your loved ones. I have a lot to be thankful for this year. Besides taking steps to realign my career goals with my personal aspirations, a lot of good things have happened (and a lot of bad things too, let’s be honest!). I have made new friends and strengthened existing friendships. I have made additional efforts to stay active and healthy. I have continued encouraging my kids to be curious and inquisitive about the world around them. I have challenged their thinking process and their academic abilities. I have taken them on an amazing vacation to the East coast, where they got to see and learn so much about US history with their own eyes. They enjoyed it so much, they can’t wait to go back and discover more. I also found great roommates, who ended up being way more than what I hoped for. It’s funny how life works sometimes. And of course, now that Thanksgiving is over, our favorite time of the year is coming! Today we’ll start decorating our house for Christmas, playing Christmas songs and reading more and more stories with a holiday theme. And I think our elf on the shelf will be back very soon too. All we need to feel more in the mood is for Mother Nature to turn down the thermostat so it’s not 85 degrees during the day anymore. I don’t think that’s much to ask.

When I say I have a lot to be thankful for, I’m not kidding. This is our jar of good things as it stands one month before the end of 2014. I can’t wait till my kids and I go through it to remember some of these great moments. What are you feeling thankful for this holiday season?

Jar of good things that happened in 2014

Jar of good things that happened in 2014

26 responses to “A lot to be thankful for

  1. I’m still in awe of all the things you do for your kids and for your own personal and professional growth. Congratulations on doing such a great job and here’s to an even better 2015!

    • Thank you, Monette! It’s been quite a challenge to get back on this life path after walking on another one for so long, but this is definitely where I should have been all along. It’s never too late to make a change. :-)

  2. Congratulation on your exams. That’s wonderful. I’m happy 2014 has given you good things to be grateful for. You deserve them!

    • Thank you! I’m glad I took time to figure out where I really want my life to go and how to maintain the work/life balance I have. Of course I have a lot more to accomplish to reach my goals but it feels good to be back on track.

  3. Yea for passing your exams with such pizzazz! Are you going to teach elementary, jr. high, high school? What? That’s exciting!

  4. You have been busy! I love the idea of the jar of good things – fantastic!

    • Thank you! We did the jar of good things last year for the first time and we liked it so much, we decided to do it again this year. It really helps you focus on the many good things that happen, big or small, and remember them at the end of the year.

  5. Congratulations on passing the exams and for having all your goals come true. You life choices, parenting and work goals inspires me and I love the idea of Jar of good things. Perhaps it’s not to late to make one and perhaps me and family can read it on Christmas as part of our gifts received this year. My tree is up and Christmas songs are now main stream both in my iPhone and in me head. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Wishing you and your love ones all the joy, love, peace, good health, success this holidays and always.

    • It’s never too late to start a jar of good things, and if you like the idea for the last month of the year, you can do it again for all of 2015.

      Thank you very much for your words of encouragement. 2014 has been a year of introspection for me, searching for what I really want to do. 2015 will be the start of actually doing it, something I’m really looking forward to.

  6. Kudos to you on your hard work and achievements!

  7. I love your good things jar! What a great idea! Good luck with the teacher certifications!

  8. Congratulations on accomplishing so much this year! That’s great that you’re going back to teaching. I’m happy to see the good things jar again and to see that it’s so full. Hope you have a wonderful new year filled with good things!

  9. You are doing such a great job!! Merry Christmas!!

  10. Wishing you and your family a 2015 full of wonderful blessings. Happy New Year.

  11. It was a blessed 2014 and though it was not perfect, it was still a year full of great things to be thankful for. Family, friendship, health, life, love, laughter, smiles and adventure, overflowing with reasons to begin with inspiration and gratitude. I hope and pray that you and your family will have the best 2015 has to offer, love, peace, joy, good health, success and so many more. Have a great weekend.

    • Thank you, and a great 2015 year to you too! This year has started at a fast pace, with me being very busy substituting and teaching several days a week. I’m so glad I’m getting back into teaching as it is clearly something I love doing. I should have made this career change a lot time ago!

  12. Pingback: All Good Things | Sheila Hurst

Leave a Reply

