Goofy Monday: Is the tooth fairy for real?

Toothiana - my favorite tooth fairy from Rise of the Guardians

Toothiana – my favorite tooth fairy from Rise of the Guardians

It’s been a long time since I posted a Goofy Monday and since I’ve managed to take notes about a few goofy moments over the summer, I thought today would be a good time to share them with you. A quick reminder: Son #1 turned 8 over the summer, Son #2 is 6 and 1/2.

The dangers of skydiving
Son #1 (thinking out loud): “Skydiving right into a cactus. That’s one way to feel pain fast.”
You don’t say! Ouch.

History explained in simple terms
Son #1: “When you say a year, BC means before cavemen, and AD means after dinosaurs.”
Me: “That’s just about right.”

How to make women happy
Son #2: “Mama, do you like it when I do something the first time you ask me?”
Me: “I LOVE it!”
This little guy is going to have some very happy girlfriends…

What happened to my birthday month?
Son #1: “Mama, you’re not treating me like it’s my birthday month. You’re telling me to DO things.”
I think he could learn a thing or two from his brother.

What a great summer school teacher I am!
Son #1: “c-7=46, so c=53.”
Me: “Wow, this summer homework is really working.”
Son #1: “No, Mama. I just have a sharp mind.”
Being a mom really is an ungrateful rewarding job.

Is the tooth fairy for real?
Son #2 lost a tooth yesterday and it started this conversation.
Son #1: “Mama, how do we know you don’t take the tooth and put the money there instead of the tooth fairy?”
Me: “Well, which version do you prefer?”
Son #1: “The tooth fairy.”
Me: “Me too.”

Have your own kids told you something recently that made you laugh? Or cry? Feel free to share in the comments section below.

 

17 responses to “Goofy Monday: Is the tooth fairy for real?

  1. Hahaha, love the BC and AD definitions! As for the tooth fairy, that’s kind of how we dealt with the “Is Santa Claus real?” conversation when my then 5-year-old asked me. I knew he understood the guy wasn’t real, but this way he was able to enjoy the magic a little longer.

  2. Kids say the darnedest things! When one of our daughters was 4, she asked, “Are we all just God’s dolls and he is just playing with us?” Where the heck did that come from?

  3. So funny. I’m glad you write these down. I love the BC and AD definitions. Those work for me.

  4. I love how you capture your childrens’ precious moments.

  5. Goofy stories are wonderful and your two boys got the best, amazing ones. They make us laugh, smile, be happy, help us forget our worries and take us back to those innocent childhood days of magic, play, belief and imagination. Belated Happy Birthday to your 8-year old. Wishing him lots of fun , excitement and great adventures. His AC & BC version, uniquely funny and imaginative! As for tooth fairies, it feels good to believe in them! God bless. All the best to you and your family.

  6. To be fair, your son definitely does have a sharp mind. ;-)

Leave a Reply

