WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

Today I’m participating in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and this week’s theme is “treasure”. Today is Valentine’s Day and I thought it was a great coincidence for this theme.

Love and a loving relationship with the people who are closest to you is something you treasure. At our house, we’ve been anticipating Valentine’s Day for about a week, the time when we hand made Valentine cards for one another. I didn’t glance at what my boys were working on but my youngest couldn’t resist looking. Do you know how hard it is to draw and color when you have to cover your artwork with one hand? My kids worked on their card together and they created the biggest Valentine card I’ve ever received.

Wordpress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure - huge Valentine card

WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure – huge Valentine card

On my end, I made the same Valentine card for both kids. Nothing says love better than squirrels and nuts, doesn’t it? I complemented the cards with Toblerone chocolate and a couple of cute little monkeys with Velcro hands so the boys can hang them around the house. I think they were a hit.

I'm nuts about you squirrel Valentine card

I’m nuts about you squirrel Valentine card

And now I’ll be treasuring these Valentine cards by storing them in our “special boxes” for the memories.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

18 responses to “WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

  1. Kid’s art is a treasure. I love looking back through things my kids gave me when they were very young. It has the power to make a momma cry.

    • Kid art should is a treasure in itself. I keep their best art from school but they also create a lot of great art at home. It’s always a great experience to witness them putting a whole scene together and their thinking behind it.

  2. Oh gosh . . . I hope I saved the Valentine’s card my kids made me when they were little.

  3. Wonderful cards! We don’t really do the Valentine’s Day thing anymore, but I used to give my boys little baskets of goodies when they were young. Never got a homemade card that big though!

    • I’m sure their excitement will pass as they grow up so we’re enjoying it while it lasts. They forgot they would get chocolate so it was a pleasant surprise. I thought they were kidding when they ask for a big piece of paper, but they were serious!

  4. SWEET! Love the cards. Have a warm and wonderful day!

  5. Happy Valentine’s a Day my friend. Love the cards. These are indeed the priceless treasures that make us smile with true joy and make our hearts swell with excitement and inspiration. Your kids created the most beautiful card there is and the one you made, totally rocks!

  6. That’s the best treasure of all. I love your kids! That’s so nice that they wanted to give you a huge card to show their love.

Leave a Reply

