WordPress weekly photo challenge: unexpected – and 50% off my photo calendars

I’m reblogging from my nature photography website today, simply because I have the perfect photo for this theme and my kids were with me when I took it.

I also want to start this post with a big announcement: my 2014 nature photography calendars (choose between five different themes) are available for sale at 50% off on my online Zazzle store today (all other products are 20% off). Enter code BLKFRIDAY541 at checkout; code valid until November 22, 2013, midnight. All calendars are made to order in the USA so you support the US economy with your purchase, and a starving artist (me!). I also appreciate any referral through Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and of course your blog or website.

Today I’m participating in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and this week’s theme is “unexpected”. If you like what you see, feel free to subscribe and receive nature photography updates a few times a week.

I know the Oxford Dictionaries recently named “selfie” as word of the year, but seriously, “photobomb” would have been my pick. Here’s nature’s version of a photobomb: an unexpected mallard duck flying in front of a white pelican as I was trying to take its picture. Thanks, dude.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: Unexpected duck flies in front of pelican

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Unexpected duck flies in front of pelican

You can view the rest of my photos of white pelicans in San Diego here.

10 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: unexpected – and 50% off my photo calendars

  1. That’s a great shot, Milka. :D

  2. Yes, it is a perfect ‘unexpected’ type of snap. It took me a moment to figure out what was happening in this pic! A couple of weeks back I had posted a pic of a crow flying across my camera just when I clicked (you’ve seen it too). The thing is, when I TRY to capture a bird I’m never able to; then one flies across my camera when I least expect it!

  3. I love how the pelican is looking at him like, “What the heck are you doing?”

  4. Great shot! It looks like that pelican really took that duck under his wing . . . :)

  5. An exciting moment that inspires us to spread our wings and soar with courage. Happy Thanksgiving. Wishing you and your family a harvest of everything wonderful and tons of blessings to celebrate always.

Leave a Reply

