Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween to you and your family! This is one day of the year I feel sorry for all the school teachers out there, who have to put up with super excited kids the whole day. The other day I feel sorry for them is tomorrow, when the same kids will display their sugar crash and tiredness for going to bed too late tonight.

I’m taking two stealth ninjas trick-or-treating tonight. They’ll be heavily armed with plastic nunchucks and daggers (technically they might be Japanese sai, I’ll have to check with the experts). I feel sorry for those people who aren’t ready to hand out candy right when we ring their doorbell and bang on their door. Hi-yah!

Ninja costumes for Halloween

Ninja costumes for Halloween

I took this picture at the school’s Halloween fair last week. Note to self: arrive at the Halloween fair much earlier next year, before all the good candy runs out.

For the lucky ones who will be coming to our door for trick-or-treating, our super cool surface carved pumpkins will meet them first. This is the first year I’ve tried to surface carve pumpkins and although it was a practice run, it was a lot of fun so I think we’ll do it again next year. The boys choose their pumpkin designs. Note the ongoing ninja theme…

Surface carved pumpkins

Surface carved pumpkins

We’ll be leaving our Halloween candy bowl out and have kids help themselves to it since we won’t be out trick-or-treating ourselves. I leave a note asking them to take 2 or 3 things, and believe it or not, they really don’t take more. Thank you, parents, for making our candy bowl last!

Our Halloween bowl is actually not just full of candy. I gather all the leftover party favors, toys, games and other giveaways I buy throughout the year for birthday parties and school events, and I toss them in the Halloween bowl. Although many kids do expect candy for Halloween, they love to see they can also pick activity books, stickers, tattoos, and little games from our bowl.

Halloween bowl with candy and toys

Halloween bowl with candy and toys

I’m looking forward to an evening of fun and I can’t wait for tomorrow, when I can finally take the gross spider web down. Argh, I hate spiders…

Halloween spider web decorations

Halloween spider web decorations

10 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. The costumes are great, and I LOVE the surface-carved pumpkins. I’d say you did really well for it being your first time. Way better than I could do. I’d probably slice my finger off. That would suck. Have fun tonight!

  2. How did I miss this? I must have been distracted by the spider!

    Anyway ~ the Bat pumpkin is FAB, the costumes are great, and you have the BEST Halloween Candy Bowl EVA! That is a super cool idea and a great way to recycle Halloween favors, etc.

    • Thank you! Believe it or not, the toys and other goodies are gone before the candy! Should I say we also “reuse” the candy we collect by putting what we won’t eat into our candy bowl? I made some tweens very happy the other night when I offered them to empty the rest of our candy into their bags. It was after 8:30pm and the visits were slowing down a lot. At first, they thought I was kidding but when they realized I was sincere, they started digging into that bowl pretty fast!

      • I believe it! Candy is dandy . . . but stickers and activity books provide tons of FUN. And that’s a great way to recycle the candy that you don’t want ~ give it to other kids.

  3. An exciting, fun way to celebrate Halloween. The Ninja costumes are awesome. A big hit among boys this year. They come in lots of colors, designs and yes, props! I had to trade my sons candy for a you. He has bags of sweets and I can’t handle all that hyperactivity, just like the teachers. Oh, well it’s just once a year. Happy November!

    • Ninjas were very popular this year, along with Wolverine, at least on the boy side. We only kept the candy we know we’ll eat and nothing that sticks too much to the teeth. I let my kids have up to 2 pieces of candy a day, so seeing how much we have, our stock should last for a while. :-)

  4. Great Ninja costumes – I hope they got to hi-yah a few things along the way! I’ve never even heard of surface carved pumpkins. Very cool. Hope you had a fun Halloween!

  5. Adorable costumes! My daughter was a ninja too. Your pumpkins are amazing!

Leave a Reply

