WWW Wednesdays – July 31, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Reliquary by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child– What I’m currently reading
Reliquary by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, the sequel to the Relic thriller, which I read a little while ago (read my review of Relic). Pretty spooky so far.

– What I recently finished reading
How to Remodel a Man by W. Bruce Cameron, the author of A Dog’s Purpose,  A Dog’s Journey and Eight Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter. This is the funniest book I’ve read in a long time! As in, laugh out loud funny. This is probably not the best book to read in a public place, where strangers stare at you every time you laugh, wondering what the heck is wrong with you. I enjoyed every remodeling tip, from how to get your man to help with housework without giving him a chance to sabotage it, to how to get a man to really listen to you. Cameron managed to gather the many things women complain about in men and how to fix the situation (insert Mission Impossible music). If you’re looking for a hilarious read, this is it.

Made To Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath & Dan Heath. This is a great book to read for anyone who needs to get ideas across. Many people have had great ideas over the years, or an important message to convey but their delivery didn’t bring the expected results. The Heath brothers explain in detail the best way to present an idea, a message, or a new concept. They apply the SUCCESs elements: Simple, Unexpected, Concrete, Credible, Emotional and Stories. This book is full of real life examples to illustrate how any idea can live or die depending on the way it’s introduced. A really interesting read.

– What I think I’ll read next
Echo Burning by Lee Child, the next book in the Jack Reacher series. I think that’s the book they used to make the recent Jack Reacher movie with Tom Cruise.

My kids’ bookshelf

No Hugs Till Saturday by Julie DowningWhat they’re currently reading 
No Hugs Till Saturday by Julie Downing. Felix declares to his mom that there will be no hugs, snuggles, or super monster squeezes for a whole week. First his mom shows she’s having a hard time waiting that long, then Felix seems to be struggling too, as he changes the day when they can hug again. Both my kids have enjoyed reading this cute story several times over.

Monster mama by Liz Rosenberg. Even though his mom is a terrible looking monster, Patrick Edward really loves her. For his own protection, she seems to hide from the rest of the world. That’s until her son gets chased by several bullies and she decides to take the matter into her own hands. Great story about bullying, and the unconditional love between a parent and a child.

 We Planted a Tree by Diane Muldrow– What they recently finished reading
We Planted a Tree by Diane Muldrow . I love how this book shows the many benefits of planting a single tree in various places of the world (city, country, or arid landscape). My kids got to watch the trees grow over a few generations. The story uses few words but it really gets the point across and my boys really liked it (I heard several Wow! and Cool!).

Little Smudge by Lionel Le Néouanic. Little Smudge is, well, a smudge. An undefined black shape. He tries to make friends with more colorful and defined shapes but he gets rejected. When his father tells him what makes him so special, he gets to share his secret with the other shapes and make new friends. A great lesson on finding out what makes you unique and special in this world, even if you look different from everybody else.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

10 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – July 31, 2013

  1. I think ‘One Shot’ was the book they based the Tom Cruise movie on, but I could be wrong. I read the back jacket in the bookstore for ‘One Shot’ and the plot seemed similar to the movie.

    I’m reading ‘Deeper’ by Jane Thompson, one of my blogging buddies. It’s about mermaids, but it is not ‘The Little Mermaid,’ that’s for sure. Very dark, but intriguing. She writes well. I’ve also just started ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling, but I’m out of town, and that was too big to bring, so it will have to wait until I get home. :)

    • Oh, I want to hear how you liked the new JK Rowling when you’re done with it! You’re probably right about the Jack Reacher book being used for the movie. I thought it was book #5 but I didn’t see the movie so I won’t be able to compare anyway.

  2. I love how much your family reads, Milka! What a way to broaden your horizons.

  3. I’m reading The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud (so far, so good, though I’m not very far in) and I’m finishing up E.B. White’s Trumpet of the Swan with my boys. (We’re all really enjoying it.) Meanwhile, my husband is reading The Fellowship of the Ring to our oldest and he’s obsessed. We might have to borrow the audio version from the library so he can give his voice a break! ;)

    • I’m been thinking of reading The Hobbit with my 7-year old but he doesn’t like scary stories. I never read the book (on my to-read list) but just saw the movie and besides being a bore, it was very violent. I was surprised since The Hobbit is often categorized as a youth novel. What do you think?

      • I’d say the books are a lot milder in terms of violence. There are definitely some scary scenes, but it’s not graphic as it can be in the movies.

      • He doesn’t want to read the Harry Potter books for the same reason, although I told him he could read the first two books and be OK. I think I’ll wait a couple of years before suggesting the books again. There’s really no rush, and I want him to enjoy the books.

  4. Love these books. I’m going to the library today for some book shopping for my boy. Schools start next week and the iPad games needs to retire. Time for the real, treasure of the mind….books!

Leave a Reply

