WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh

Today I’m participating in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and this week’s theme is “fresh”. I thought I’d focus on the fresh produce we grow in our garden and some of the kid-friendly fresh foods we prepare in our kitchen. Warning: if you’re hungry at the beginning of this post, you may be starving by the time you reach the end.

I love growing bright red cherry tomatoes in the garden. The only problem is, the darn squirrels love them too. And unlike me, they have no problem eating them if they’re not completely ripe. I do get lucky when I get to see cherry tomatoes get this red. Delightfully refreshing in the summer.

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh cherry tomatoes

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh cherry tomatoes

The squirrels will let me grow a few things without touching them too much, mostly zucchini and green chard. I love cooking the chard, then add heavy cream, garlic and salt. It just melts in your mouth!

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh green chard

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh green chard

When I have some time in the morning, I love to make pancakes with my youngest, who’s my sous chef in the kitchen. Don’t these fresh blueberry pancakes look yummy? That’s because they were!

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh blueberry pancakes

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh blueberry pancakes

A few months ago I tried making cinnamon rolls and I now understand why they’re so popular at the grocery store. Even though I used the bread machine to mix the dough and let it rise, it still took a long time and some work to make them. But you can’t beat the taste of fresh, homemade cinnamon rolls (with no frosting for us, thank you).

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh homemade cinnamon rolls

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh homemade cinnamon rolls

We like making pizza too, by just putting fresh tomatoes, olives and cheese on top of fresh whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe’s. I haven’t tried making my own pizza dough yet, but I should. Can you smell that freshly baked homemade pizza?

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Freshly baked homemade pizza

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Freshly baked homemade pizza

Of course we love dessert, but in the summer one of the few baked desserts we’ll tolerate in the heat is a fresh mixed berry pie, full of berry juices. Mmmmm, I want to make one now!

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Freshly baked mixed berry pie

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Freshly baked berry piWordPress weekly photo challenge: Freshly baked mixed berry pie

What do you like to make fresh in your kitchen?

7 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Fresh

  1. Yum! You enticed me in with that red ripe tomato. Playing in the kitchen is such fun. Your creations look fantastic.

    Making pizza dough is easy. And long as you start it in time.

  2. Yep, they all made me hungry. Healthy, delicious foods that everyone will surely love. Thanks for sharing all these. Have a great day.

  3. Everything looks great ! I wish I could make cinnamon rolls, I tried it once and they tasted like cinnamon bricks.

Leave a Reply

