WWW Wednesdays – July 17, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

I’m not sure how your summer is going but mine is zooming by. I have tons of funny moments to share for a Goofy Monday edition but by the time I look at the calendar and think about it, it’s usually Tuesday or Wednesday already. So I’m trying my best to at least write this WWW Wednesdays on time, especially since we continue to read lots of good books.

My bookshelf

Made To Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath & Dan Heath– What I’m currently reading
Made To Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath & Dan Heath.

– What I recently finished reading
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen. After enjoying Chomp a few months ago, I thought I’d go back and read Hiaasen’s first young adult novel Hoot to see where it all started from. I wasn’t disappointed. Hiaasen has a very natural and convincing way to make his own characters become more aware of the environment around them and show how their actions can have a positive or negative effect. He doesn’t preach to preserve the environment one way or the other, but rather guides you in understanding how we can all help, one person at a time. The main story involves young Roy Eberhardt, who is new to Florida and doesn’t think it’s as cool as Montana. He may just change his mind by the end of the book. There’s bullying, new friendships, greed, and a whole lot of natural props (snakes and alligators, anyone?). A fun read for the summer, or anytime of the year.

Random Acts of Kindness by the editors of Conari Press. A little gem of a book sharing true stories of people’s encounters with random acts of kindness (they were either the givers or the recipients), as well as inspiring quotes about kindness and giving. This short book is super fast to read but full of ideas of what makes a random act of kindness kind and special indeed.

– What I think I’ll read next
How to Remodel a Man by W. Bruce Cameron, the author of A Dog’s Purpose and A Dog’s Journey, a couple of my favorite books these past couple of years, and Eight Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter. This book looks absolutely hilarious and I can’t wait to laugh my way through it.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading 
If You Want To See a Whale by Julie FoglianoIf You Want To See a Whale by Julie Fogliano. This book advises you what to do (and what not to do) so you can spot a whale. That includes wrapping yourself up in a not-too-cozy blanket so you don’t fall asleep, and being very, very patient.

How To Clean Your Room In 10 Easy Steps by Jennifer LaRue Huget. This hilarious book shows you the best way to tidy your bedroom, starting with waiting for your mom to holler,  “GET UP THERE AND CLEAN YOUR ROOM—NOW!”, using all three of your names. One of the next steps is to actually take everything out of the drawers and closets… My kids laugh out loud at the advice and I haven’t seen them follow it, fortunately!

 – What they recently finished reading
My Mom Has X-Ray Vision by Angela McAllisterMy Mom Has X-Ray Vision by Angela McAllister. Matthew believes his mother has x-ray vision because she always knows what he’s doing. It beats the eyes behind the back of the head, doesn’t it? One day he decides to test his theory. The results are quite astonishing, especially for the reader, who gets to see a lot more about super mom than Matthew himself!

The Museum by Susan Verde. As a young girl walks through various museum galleries, she experiences different emotions by looking at different styles of art. When she finds herself in front of an empty canvas, she feels inspired to create art in her own way. The story is OK but Peter H. Reynolds’ illustrations are what make this book a must-read.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

7 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – July 17, 2013

  1. I always love seeing your books you read each week. I’m in the middle of Crux right now (from one of my blogging friends). It’s YA thriller, and keeping me on the edge of my seat. Crazy.

  2. We want to see the Before and After photos of your sons’ rooms ~ to see if they really learned how to clean their room in 10 easy steps. :D

    • Haha, I really hope they never clean their room that way! The end result wasn’t pretty and my kids were very good at pointing out all the things that were just “stuffed” under the bed, in the drawer, etc to hide them.

  3. Exciting reading finds. I bet my son will jump for joy when we read, “if you want to see a whale.” We bought love anything under the sea.

Leave a Reply

