WWW Wednesdays – July 10, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

Well, somehow it’s been three weeks since my last WWW Wednesdays update. It’s not for lack of reading because we’ve done a lot of that. Rather, a limited number of hours available in front of the computer with internet access, and a lot of quality time with the kids. Including some great reading I’m sharing below.

My bookshelf

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen– What I’m currently reading
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen. I read Chomp a few months ago and I really enjoyed it so I thought I’d go back to Carl Hiassen’s first young adult novel and see where it started from. So far, so good!

– What I recently finished reading
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This is a magical story in every sense of the word. I truly enjoyed following Celia and Marco’s journey and their struggle to go against their preset fate. Two things bothered me about this book though. It was a little too long and could have used some editing, as some chapters went on for too long. And the story bounced not only from one place to the next, but from one moment in time to another, back and forth. I tried to keep up with the time shifts but it eventually tired me. Other than that, it’s definitely a story worth reading.

Mennonite In A Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen. Although the premise of this memoir is interesting – a 40-something year old woman going back to her Mennonite family after her husband leaves her for another man and she recovers from a serious car accident – it couldn’t keep my interest. The first chapter tries to stay on track but after that the book goes all over the place, bouncing from one current event to another, then to a memory, then to another. As I was reading this book, I couldn’t keep track of what year each memory was taking place and it got tiresome. I put it down halfway when my interest ran out. If you’re interested in reading about Mennonites in the modern world, it’s probably a good read, as long as you’re aware of the story bouncing around with no specific purpose.

Night Sins by Tami Hoag. I actually own this book and started it a couple of weeks ago but I’m not finding myself in the mood to read a story about a kidnapped kid in the middle of winter in the Minnesota at this time. Besides, I just got several books from the library I really want to read, so I put this one back on my bookshelf for a later time.

– What I think I’ll read next
Made To Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die by Chip Heath & Dan Heath.

My kids’ bookshelf

The Dot by Peter H. ReynoldsWhat they’re currently reading
The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds. We LOVE this book! Vashti is a young student who believes she can’t draw, so her art teacher simply asks her to draw a dot, and then sign her artwork. What happens next makes Vashti change her mind about her artistic abilities. This is a great book for any kid who doubts his/her own talent.
Ish, another book by Peter H. Reynolds. Ramon loves to draw but loses confidence after his older brother notices his artwork isn’t perfectly true to reality. Fortunately his sister gives him a new perspective on things and encourages him to find his own style. A wonderful story on creativity, individuality and what art is about.

Oh the places you'll go by Dr Seuss– What they recently finished reading
Oh, The Places You’ll Go! by Dr Seuss. What better book to read before heading to kindergarten? Or second grade? Or a new path in life? We all had our own reasons to read this book and we enjoyed it very much. I’m looking forward to reading it again when we reach a new milestone.
E-mergency by Tom Lichtenheld and Ezra Fields-Meyer. The letter E falls down the stairs and gets hurt. It’s an E-mergency! Now the story can’t use the letter E until it heals, so which letter will replace it in the meantime? This is a very funny story that features with even funnier illustrations that tell a whole story by themselves. You could probably spend a whole hour going through this book and not notice everything there’s to see.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

8 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – July 10, 2013

  1. I’m glad you liked Night Circus. I agree–it could have been condensed a bit. I’m still reading Jo Nesbo’s The Phantom (a Nordic thriller). It’s a great book, but I have so much going on, I haven’t had much time for it.

    • I hear you, I have the same reading problem right now and I need to stick to books that don’t require too much concentration. The bouncing around of events in The Night Circus really bugged me. I think the book could have remained the same length but by putting the events in chronological order. Honestly, it really didn’t add much to the story, just a lot of confusion. I kept going back to reading the dates to figure out where each chapter I was reading stood in the story. I felt like I was doing homework, too much work for a fiction book.

  2. When you said it had been 3 weeks since your last WWW, I didn’t believe you because I felt like I had just commented on it.

    But you were right.
    Which means, ack!, I was wrong. Oh, the horror. :razz:

    Anyway . . . I love the sound of DOT.
    Oh, The Places You’ll Go has always been a fave.
    I enjoyed HOOT too.

    • Time flies, doesn’t it? Every week I kept seeing Wednesday pass by and think, oops, I missed it… Peter H. Reynolds has become one of our favorite writers/illustrators. He also wrote and illustrated a book called The North Star, which is about… finding your North star. You can see Reynolds knows how important it is for kids to follow their passion and their dreams and his dedications show that he had great mentors helping him do that. It’s great to see that now, he’s trying to help kids do the same. Cool guy.

  3. Completely agree with you in regards to The Night Circus. I loved it too, but I did find myself skipping parts that seemed pointless! You’ve made me want to read Dr Seuss now too! So good!

    • Pointless is a good way to describe some of those parts. They didn’t add anything to the story and I’m surprised the editor didn’t cross them out completely. I’m not a fan of Dr Seuss and I find most of his books bothersome but I do think he wrote some gems, like Oh the places you’ll go and How the Grinch stole Christmas.

Leave a Reply

