WordPress weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic

Today I’m participating in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and this week’s theme is “nostalgic”. I’m not nostalgic about many things (I’m more of a forward looking person) but I have the perfect item for this week’s theme: Nutella.

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic - Nutella jar

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic – Nutella jar

Having been born and raised in France, I grew up on Nutella, eating it on many different things: baguettes, croissants, biscottes, bananas, crepes, and one of my favorite, simply by the spoon. There’s no better pick-me-up and I think productive brains thrive on Nutella.

I’ve eaten Nutella my whole life and every time I open a jar and smell its hazelnut chocolate paste, random childhood memories come back to mind. And now I’ve passed on the childhood memories to my kids, in a good and a bad way. My youngest loves it, my eldest doesn’t like the smell of it. He doesn’t know what’s good for him!  One thing the three of us have in common though is, we can’t stand peanut butter. The overwhelming smell and the sticky texture turn us off big time. None of that with Nutella!

If you’re a Nutella fan, please free to chime in!

17 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Definitely a fan. Last night I had to grab a spoonful and savor on the couch while I read my book. Tasty. My favorite is spreading it on crepes with banana slices.

  2. Still haven’t tried it. Even despite being an Au Pair in Paris all those years ago. Hard to believe, I know…

  3. I’ve never tried it, and am sure I would like it. But I LOVE peanut butter too . . . especially natural peanut butter with NOTHING added but salt.

    • Don’t try Nutella, it’s highly addictive! ;-) I think the only way you can like peanut butter is by being introduced to it very early on. This is not a taste and texture you can easily enjoy later on in life. Even then, my youngest used to like it but can’t stand it anymore, so early exposure doesn’t guarantee long-term enjoyment.

      • I just read an article about Samantha Brown. She always travels with peanut butter. In China, she made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for a bunch of people who had never tried it before.

        At first, they felt the combination would be awful . . . but they all liked it and bonded over PB&J’s.

        This isn’t the same article, but it’s on point:
        http://insplainesight.com/?p=105

      • OK, the article does say that the flavor is not often well received but that the locals like the bonding opportunities. I’d definitely carry a jar of Nutella for traveling purposes. I do take one when we go on vacation, so we’re not deprived. :-)

  4. I am Australian so vegemite for me.

  5. I’ve never tried it but now I’m going to have to look for it. It sounds good – especially with chocolate in there – but I’m also a peanut butter fan.

  6. My favorite spread is freshly ground almond butter with nothing else in it except the almonds…I put it on apple slices and whole grain crackers. But I did have Nutella for the first time…yes, can you believe that…when I visited my son in Chicago last month. It was DELICIOUS!!!! Perhaps I shouldn’t buy it…I might not be able to stop eating it!

  7. Count me in. I’m a Nutella fan but my wife is the president of our local fan club. Ha, ha, ha.

Leave a Reply

