WWW Wednesdays – June 19, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I started it a couple of days ago and I like it so far.

– What I recently finished reading
Running Blind by Lee Child, the #4 book in the Jack Reacher series. I’ve been reading the Jack Reacher series from book #1 and this has to be the best one yet! The very dark, disturbing plot blew my mind away, and yet I figured out how the murderer manipulated the women, yeah! I can’t believe I didn’t guess who it was exactly, even though I’d solved most of the clues on my own. This is the kind of book that will keep you up at night if you let it happen. I’d give it 5 stars if it weren’t for Jodie and Reacher’s ongoing struggle to make a decision about their relationship that was a little too present and distracting to the plot.

– What I think I’ll read next
Mennonite In A Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen, the memoir of a woman going back home to her Mennonite family after having a serious car accident and her husband leaving her for another guy. A friend of mine recommended this book as “funny” so I thought it’d be perfect for a summer read.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Betty Bunny Wants Everything by Michael KaplanWe just discovered the Betty Bunny books by Michael Kaplan and they are hilarious! We started with Betty Bunny Loves Chocolate Cake, in which Betty is supposed to learn about being patient and waiting the whole day to have a slice of chocolate cake after dinner. In Betty Bunny Wants Everything, Betty’s mom tells her kids they can pick one toy at the toy store, but Betty wants to buy a whole cartful! When her mom says no, Betty throws a huge temper tantrum… Betty is your typical three-year old, described as a “handful” by the strangers who meet her (and her own parents).  You should see the negative reviews for these books on Amazon. Some people think Betty is a terrible example and will have an awful influence on their own children. Whatever happened to talking with your kids about what happens in a book when the character is showing appropriate behavior? My kids love these books and Betty Bunny’s “handful” behavior and not so good choices. It makes them understand how disruptive this type of behavior can be so they can be more aware of their own behavior.

– What they recently finished reading
What To Do If An Elephant Stands On Your Foot by Michelle Robinson. If you like the Laura Joffe Numeroff’s “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie” type of books, you’ll love this one! It’s based on a similar plot at the start, but the main character doesn’t follow any of the narrator’s advice and gets into a lot of trouble. “Keep calm. Panicking will only startle it!” is the first piece of advice given if an elephant stands on your foot and the first thing the boy does is… scream. A very funny and entertaining book!
The Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood. Did you know there are many different kinds of quiet? This book will show you plenty of them, from “first one awake quiet” to “trying not to hiccup quiet”. I love the beautiful pencil illustrations and the various animal characters throughout the book. My kids really enjoyed this book so they could talk about the variety of quiet moments in our daily lives.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

12 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 19, 2013

  1. I just finished ‘The Imperfectionists’ by Tom Rachman. Here’s a link to my Goodreads review if you’re interested (too lazy to rehash it) http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/637106985. Even though it was more like a collection of short stories of the people who work at a newspaper, the author did weave it into a connected novel. I enjoyed it. He’s a wonderful writer. But I still prefer reading about the same characters chapter after chapter.

    Next, I’ll start Jo Nesbo’s ‘The Phantom.’ I’m in the mood for another Nordic Thriller, and I really like his Harry Hole detective series. Maybe I’ll start the next Jack Reacher book after that one. We’ll see where the reading mood takes me…

    • Books written from a different POV in every chapter drive me a little nuts. I should look into Jo Nesbo for a change. Years ago, I read a murder mystery/investigation story written by a Swedish writer and I really liked it. But I can’t remember the book’s name or the author’s name at all. Too bad because I would love to read more.

    • I just saw the Betty Bunny books at our library, I’ll have to check them out !

      • Please do! I really want to know what you think about them. And what your son thinks. I love hearing my kids preaching to Betty Bunny, especially when they don’t realize they sometimes behave the same way. It’s pretty funny.

  2. I read Night Circus for book club. Anxious to see what you think. Will definitely check out the Betty Bunny books.

  3. Sometimes imperfect characters and inappropriate behavior (like Betty Bunny) are better teaching aides than reading about “perfect kids.”

Leave a Reply

