WWW Wednesdays – June 5, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Running Blind by Lee Child– What I’m currently reading
Running Blind by Lee Child, the #4 book in the Jack Reacher series. I’m starting this book today and I can’t wait!

– What I recently finished reading
Relic by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child. What a great murder mystery / thriller / horror book! I read Still Life With Crows a few months ago and there was a nailbiting pursuit in giant, deep caves. This book has a nailbiting pursuit in the pitch dark halls of the NYC Natural History Museum and the underground tunnels below it. Very, very chilling story that will keep you up at night, by both forcing you to keep reading and not being able to fall asleep after that. A creepy thriller but I loved it! I hear this is a three-part series, so I have some books to add to my to-read list.

– What I think I’ll read next
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Carrie Rubin at The Write Transition told me I should read it. It was a welcome reminder since I put it on my to-read list a long time ago. I requested it from the library a week ago and it’s here already. Nice!

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Dinosaur Cove by Rex StoneThe Dinosaur Cove book series by Rex Stone. We started reading this series of 20 books a few months ago and my kids were interested for a little while only, so we stopped after the first two books. Now they seem to be more motivated to read them again. They want to find out what happens to Jamie and Tom, two boys who discover a hidden world at the back of a cave in the cove. It’s a old time world full of dinosaurs of all shapes and sizes! These books are full of adventure, suspense, danger, action and even humor. What’s not to like? Our library only has the first six books, so I hope I can get the others through our extensive library system.

Ol' Mama Squirrel by David Ezra Stein

– What they recently finished reading
Ol’ Mama Squirrel by David Ezra Stein. Ol’ Mama Squirrel has raised many babies and kept them all safe from predators. She knows how to use her Chook! Chook! Chook! weapon to scare them away. But when a grizzly bear threatens to eat her whole family and her repeated chooks won’t work, Ol’ Mama Squirrel has to come up with something more powerful. We like David Ezra Stein’s books a lot and this new one is very, very funny. My youngest walked around making a fist and saying “Chook! Chook! Chook!” at almost anything for a couple of weeks.
Sky color by Peter H. ReynoldsSky color by the brilliant Peter H. Reynolds. Marisol is a little artist who loves to paint. When the teacher asks her students to paint the new mural for
the school library, Marisol is supposed to paint the sky. But wait, there’s no blue paint for her! It will take Marisol a bit of looking around and imagining to come up with her contribution. This book made my kids say “wow!” when they saw the finished mural and I liked it a lot too. This is a great story to show kids that anything is possible with a little imagination and thinking out of the box!

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

19 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 5, 2013

  1. Glad you were able to get ‘The Night Circus.’ I’m still enjoying it, though it’s maybe longer than it needs to be. But it’s unlike anything I’ve read in a while. This author has quite the imagination.

    Thanks for the mention. :)

  2. I really loved The Night Circus, hope you enjoy it! My post is here: http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/

  3. Catherine Johnson

    If you like thrillers you might like my friends’ books. One is In her Shadow. The other is Six Train to Wisconsin.
    I couldn’t get into The Night Circus even though it’s very popular. Let me know what you think.

  4. Your books look great, Milka…and thanks for the heads up…I did not know there was a Jack Reacher series…and just saw the movie with Tom Cruise…is that based on the first book in the series, do you know? I actually saw it on the flight home from Singapore…which was a blast because I watched 5 movies on each long flight and they kept bringing me meals…like Queen for a Day…nothing to do but sit and relax. :)
    Your kids books are fantastic…as always…what a great parent you are…always making sure they have plenty of great reading material. :)

    • I think the movie was based on Jack Reacher #5 (go figure!). You really can pick up any of those books without having to read the previous ones. I think the latest one, which I read last year, was #19.

      We have so much fun reading so many different books every week. I choose children’s books by theme, genre, author, illustrator, so we get a good mix and exposure to a lot of different styles and stories, so it’s never boring for the kids.

  5. Yes, you have to read the Night Circus! I loved it. The writing is really beautiful and poetic, but I agree with Carrie that it did drag a bit in the middle.

  6. Thanks for sharing these books. It brings to life children’s adventures in a fun, exciting way. Thanks

  7. I need to visit the library soon and see if they have these amazing, fun books. The dinosuar cove sounds like a thrilling adventure. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

