Take a seat in the ball crawl, make a friend

A friend of mine shared the Soulpancake video below on Facebook the other day. As soon as I finished watching it, I felt compelled to share it too. I like the idea of this social experiment so much that I’m sharing it with you today on this blog too. If you’ve seen it before or if you’re watching it for the first time now, I’d love to hear what you think.

Put a small ball crawl in a public place. Invite people to come sit in it and make a friend by asking them questions that are printed on the balls. Sounds weird? Just watch the video and see what happens. I’d love to see this everywhere: on the street, at school, heck even on the side of the road during traffic jams! Just kidding on that last one. Or maybe not.

I’m participating in the WordPress weekly photo challenge on “in the background” on my photography website. Hop on over if you want to see my photo choices for this theme.

I love to realize there’s a way for all of us to become more aware of the people around. Anything that makes us care and be kind to one another gets my two thumbs up. What about the people who really don’t care and are unkind, you ask? They should be the first ones we throw in there! Maybe not throw but really, encourage them to try to care just a little bit, and see if it makes a difference in their lives. I want to bet it would.

Enjoy this video and have a great Memorial’s Day. A big shoot out to all our troops who have sacrificed their lives to save ours in return over the years.

7 responses to “Take a seat in the ball crawl, make a friend

  1. I enjoyed the video yesterday, but forgot to leave a comment. Oops. Thanks for the link.

    On an unrelated note: Tonight’s the night! (Last night and tomorrow night too):
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/two-upcoming-sky-events/

    BFF and I just enjoyed a peek at the Planetary Triple of Venus (bottom), Jupiter (left) and Mercury (right) in the night sky just past sunset. We’re going to head out again in a few minutes when the sky is a tad darker . . . but think there are now too many clouds.

    You should be able to view it tonight and tomorrow at sunset (if clouds don’t get in the way).

  2. That’s really great! I don’t know if I’d have the guts to sit in there, but in a way it’s sort of like making friends through blogging – we just don’t have all those fun balls to play with.

    • It’s kind of like that, isn’t it? I’ve never been in a ball crawl, so I’d love to hop in there, by myself or with someone else!

      • It does look like it would be a lot of fun to squish around in there! They hadn’t invented those kinds of things yet when I was little enough to really do them. We’ll have to be on the lookout for them!

Leave a Reply

