WWW Wednesdays – May 15, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading
Nicholas Saint North and the Battle of the Nightmare King by William Joyce. I have one and day to read this book before it’s due at the library, yikes! But I’m half way through already, phew!

– What I recently finished reading
The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles DuhiggThe Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles Duhigg. This is a very thorough and fascinating book on the power of habit, and it includes a lot of research and practical examples to make the data understandable. The main key about habits is, you can’t get rid of them, you can only replace them with a different (more healthy) habit. Even though the book is divided into the habits of individuals and the habits of organizations, I found both parts very useful since they included very specific scenarios. I really enjoyed reading the chapter on Rosa Parks and how her strong and wide connections to the community helped spread the movement of civil disobedience by creating new habits. The appendix is very useful to help identify a habit you have and you want to change. It includes three steps:
– Step 1: identify the routine
– Step 2: experiment with rewards
– Step 3: isolate the cue
– Step 4: have a plan
I’m definitly going to use the strategies in this book to try to change a couple of bad habits I have, including going to bed too late and biting my nails. Nothing else has worked so far, so this is worth the try.

Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us by Michael MossSalt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us by Michael Moss. Fascinating book on the story of salt, sugar and fat in processed foods. Food manufacturing companies spend millions of dollars in ingredient research, new product development and advertising and marketing to create bestsellers. Not only do they aim for best taste, but they only want to make sure the product leave the consumer always wanting more. And healthy properties never come at the expense of taste and sales. An eye opener about what’s going on behind the closed doors of the food giants.

– What I think I’ll read next
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. I read this book when I was in middle school and loved it then. I can’t remember who did the murders, so it will make the book more enjoyable!

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
– Exclamation mark! by Amy Krouse RosenthalExclamation Mark! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. If anyone has read this book and thinks it’s just about punctuation, they need to read it again. That’s what’s brilliant about Exclamation Mark! It’s so much more! Poor Exclamation Mark doesn’t fit in with the periods because he only speaks in exclamations! That’s unless he meets question mark, who shows him every mark has a purpose, doesn’t it? Even if you don’t have young kids, it’s worth reading. It’s one of these books that will make you say, why didn’t think of that?!
A Visitor for Bear by Bonny Becker– We LOVE Bonny Becker’s Bear and Mouse books. The stories are funny and sweet and the watercolor illustrations are a great match to the text. There are four books in the series, the first one being A Visitor for Bear (you probably should read this one first), then A Birthday for BearA Bedtime for Bear and The Sniffles for Bear. In each book, Bear is very set in his ways and Mouse tries as hard as he can to show him a different perspective on life. These books are a great opportunity to discuss how stubborn people can be and what they can miss out by being so.

– What they recently finished reading
Diary of A Fly by Doreen Cronin
Diary of a Worm, Diary of a Spider and Diary of A Fly by Doreen Cronin. Diary of a Worm probably is the funniest of the three. I love it when the worm forgets his lunch so he eats his homework. After he has to write down I will not eat my homework 10 times, he also eats that piece of paper… The plot is the same in every single book but my kids like them and they’re quite entertaining. The books are exactly what their titles say: diaries of specific bugs for a few months, with humorous comments. I give credit to the illustrator for not making the worm look like a penis on every page.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

17 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – May 15, 2013

  1. The bug diaries sound fun. I need little kids again so I can read these. I feel kind of funny checking them out for myself.

    • Well, you could always stop by the children’s book department at your bookstore to browse funny books. I did that before I had kids. You can pretend you’re looking around for a gift, while enjoying some fun reading. :-)

  2. ‘Salt Sugar Fat’ reminds me of a book I read a few years ago about the candy industry. The large candy companies do things like try to make sure that some candies don’t fill you up too quickly, by including less sugar or chocolate, so that you might eat more or buy another bag.

    • It’s amazing to read the extent of the research made for each processed food, just to find that perfect combination of sugar, salt and fat that will make people want to eat it over and over. Sickening in many ways.

      • Most companies just want to make more money, instead of making good food. I guess that’s what they have to do. I’d spend all my money at Whole Foods if I could afford it!

      • There’s a good discussion in the book about that. Food company executives all say they have been trying to make their foods “healthier but when they are “too” healthy (e.g. less salt, fat and/or sugar), people don’t buy them because they don’t like the taste as much so sales go down. And companies are all about making money, so they sell what people buy. They also argue that they try to use different ingredients to make the healthy food taste good (e.g. spices) but then the cost goes up and they pass that on to the consumer, who doesn’t want to pay more. Looks like there are a lot of people to blame for this mess…

        By the way, I saw this yesterday: new bacon dogs… http://shine.yahoo.com/shine-food/bacon-dogs-are-here–thanks–oscar-mayer-162544849.html

  3. I hope you didn’t get any library fees! :) I’m way too slow of a reader and would never be able to read a book in a day unless it happened to be a really, really good book. The Diary of a Fly looks like a lot of fun – such a good idea for a book too because of that whole “if only I could be a fly on the wall” saying.

    • I finished the book last night and I plan to return it today. I had a whole bunch of children’s books overdue the other day, which increase my library fine, so I have to be careful not to make it worse. We usually have about 200 items out at a time, so I can’t complain too much about paying a few dollars in fines now and then.

  4. I definitely want to read the Michael Moss book. It’s on my list. I’m currently trying to work my way through a book club selection called ‘The Red Tent’ by Diamant (blanking on the author’s first name). So many people love this historical novel that tries to recreate the story of Dinah of whom there is little information in the bible (Jacob’s only daughter). But I find it painful. So far, at the halfway mark, most of what I’ve read is about childbirth and menstrual blood. Sigh. Let’s hope I make it.

  5. The books your kids are reading interest me. I’m on my way to check them out, Milka. :-)

  6. Oh, you’re in for a treat with “And Then There Were None.” I read it recently and then added the movie to my Netflix queue.

    • I read the book in middle school and although I remember the plot, I have no idea who dunnit, so it will be a nice surprise. I saw the movie too and it was good. I love Agatha Christie, she’s one of my favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

