Goofy Monday: Let me impress you with my hidden talents

It’s another Goofy Monday and I’d like to take this opportunity to showcase a couple of my hidden talents. I guarantee you’ll be impressed, especially because I managed to do every feat I list below in one single day. Yes, just today! And the day isn’t even over yet. Lucky me…

And if you’re not that impressed, I’m sure you can find someone with real talent if you start browsing YouTube.

Of course, if you have some hidden talents you’re proud of, I encourage you to share them in the Comments section below.

My absentmindedness 

This morning, like every single morning, I made tea. I boiled the water, poured it into my teapot to let the tea infuse. A few minutes later, I poured the tea in my mug. It looked like this.

Goofy Monday - cup of water with no tea bag

Goofy Monday – cup of water with no tea bag

Yep, I obviously forgot to put a tea bag in the teapot. And let me tell you, tea without a tea bag tastes pretty blah.

I have to admit though, it was quite an improvement over last week, when I plugged the electric kettle into the wall but never turned it on.  If water takes longer to boil when you stare at it, it takes an eternity (literally) when you don’t turn on the kettle…

My clumsiness

I’m the Queen of Klutz at my house and today has been a royal day for me! This is what’s happened so far since I got up this morning:

1) I dropped a plate while emptying the dishwasher. It was a plastic plate. Ha, must be my lucky day! Or just a warning of what was coming.

2) My splash of milk for my tea ended up on the kitchen counter, and none of it inside my mug.

3) I hit my head in my car’s door panel as I was leaning down to strap in my kid. Ouch, that hurt.

4) This afternoon I banged one of my smaller toes into the leg of a chair. Banged it very hard. As in, the chair leg went in between two toes. Ouch, that really hurt. Apparently the sight of me holding my foot and cringing in pain was hilarious because my kids couldn’t stop laughing. I didn’t understand why they were laughing so hard until I saw my son holding out the no-swear jar and asking me to put in two quarters. Come to think of it, he was probably kind to ask for only two coins. I was under so much pain, I don’t recall everything I may have said.

It’s been a couple of hours and the damn toe still hurts like hell. And the day isn’t over yet. But it can only get better, right?

By the way, we just started our no-swear jar last week so there’s not much money in it yet. After today, I have a feeling I’m ahead of the pack. What do you suggest we do once we’ve stopped using words we shouldn’t say? Or we’ve run out of change, whichever comes first.

No-swear jar

No-swear jar

14 responses to “Goofy Monday: Let me impress you with my hidden talents

  1. I’m sorry to laugh at your expense, but I couldn’t help it. The tea thing is totally something I would do. In fact, I once ‘steamed’ broccoli without putting water in the kettle. A lovely burnt pot smell permeated the air…

    Sorry about the foot thing, though. I once rammed my son’s stroller between my big toe and my second toe and broke a bone in my foot. Ironically, it happened at the hospital when I took him in on an errand with me. I was able to get an xray without leaving the building, which was good, because I could barely put any weight on it. Left with a walking cast/boot. Very embarrassing. (I hope you didn’t break anything!)

  2. Wow! Hope tomorrow’s a little more dull for you. The teabag cup (or lack of teabag) made me laugh. So is the thought of your sons laughing at your expense because they’re getting your money.

  3. Hi Milka,
    Sorry to hear you’ve had a rough day, but I’m not sorry I’m laughing.
    Shall I send you some change? Good thing tomorrow is another new day. :-)

  4. That’s a lot to go through in one morning! I think I would have had to put money into that no-swear jar too. I hope your toe feels better.

Leave a Reply

