WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life

WordPress suggested taking one photo every hour of my day and use the gallery format to display all of them. I won’t make you endure 12 hours of my life with my kids on spring break, but here are a few highlights of today.

We started the day by eating chocolate chip pancakes, since there were a few left from yesterday’s breakfast. Yum!

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - chocolate chip cookies

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – chocolate chip cookies

Then the kids played Lego for a little bit. I’m usually the one who has to hunt for specific pieces through the huge pile. Mercy me…

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - playing lego

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – playing lego

We also spent a little time painting. My six-year old chose his favorite subject: the Green Ninja from Lego Ninjago. If you’re wondering, yes, it’s always a Lego day at our house.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - painting

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – painting

After lunch, we stopped by the library to drop off some books that were due today and to pick up new books on hold. My bag wasn’t big enough to hold them all. Fortunately my kids helped me by carrying their favorite new arrivals.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - new books at the library

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – new books at the library

We then headed for the playground at the park for some well needed outdoor exercise. This is our favorite park in town.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - at the playground

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – at the playground

While there, I discovered the wisteria is in full bloom and I regretted not bringing my good camera. Better luck next time!

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - wisteria blooms

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – wisteria blooms

We’re finishing dinner now and after bathtime, we’ll have storytime, one of my favorite times of the day with the kids. Here’s what’s waiting for us tonight.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - storytime with the kids

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – storytime with the kids

And here’s my favorite part of the day, when I’ll be reading my own book, side by side with my eldest on my bed, while he stays up to read his own book after his brother goes to bed. Code Name Verity is fascinating, by the way.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life - reading Code Name Verity

WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life – reading Code Name Verity

And what about tomorrow, you’re asking? We’re going egg hunting!

22 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: A day in my life

  1. Ooh, you finally got ‘Gone Girl’! I just finished Flynn’s book ‘Dark Places.’ I didn’t enjoy that one as much, mostly because I really didn’t like any of the characters.

    Sounds like you and your boys are having a great time. But I don’t envy you on those Lego pieces…

    • Yes, I finally got Gone Girl, as well as 4 other books I really wanted to read. All in one week, argh… I have a feeling I’ll have to prioritize what I want to read first because there’s no way I’ll be able to read them before they are due.

      We’re having a great time and I can’t wait for the egg hunt at the park tomorrow, and in our backyard on Sunday morning! The Easter Bunny still has a lot of work to do…

  2. Just beautiful! Reminds me of the days my boys were still toddlers. I also enjoyed playing with them. Thanks for sharing and enjoy the weekend. :)

  3. I loved sharing your day with you and the boys ~ you are the BEST mom for indoor FUN, outdoor exercise, intellectual (reading) stuff.

    And I LOVE the Green Ninja! :D

  4. Recognized the ‘Amanda Pig’ book, we’ve been getting those books as well!

    • We like the Olivia books. These little ones are not from the author and they’re not as funny as the original, but we still like them.

      • Our library only has one Olivia book, isn’t that odd for a popular series ? I know there’s quite a few titles in the series, maybe we’ll just have to break down and buy one.

      • That’s pretty bad. Do they let you borrow out of the circuit from another library? Our system is great, as we can borrow from dozens of libraries across the Southwest. It might be worth looking in used bookstores. The original Olivia (not the ones inspired by the TV series, Ian Falconer didn’t write or illustrate them) are the best. I like the one when she goes to Venice, and the missing toy.

      • In general it’s a pretty good library. They do have a good selection of other series like Anatole, George & Martha, Curious George…. But every now and then I’ll find them missing a series or author that you’d think was fairly well known. I haven’t checked on inter library loans, I’ll have to look into that.

      • The inter-library loan is the only way I can get the newest books here, especially children’s books. I hope you can get the books that way, they’re worth the laugh.

  5. Oooo. That wisteria looked incredible even without your better camera. Hope you had a fun-filled week. I enjoyed time with my oldest down in Utah, and had a blast.

  6. What a perfect day! I love the Green Ninja and those wisteria blooms. That looks like a lot of exercise just bringing those books home from the library. Gone Girl is on my list now too.

  7. I love wisteria.

    • Oh, then you’ll have to look at my photo post from today, and be on the lookout for an upcoming photo post all on wisteria. I’m going to promote the first post on this blog in a few minutes, so you can have the link.

  8. Parenting is hard work, Milka…and you excel at it. :)
    Thanks so much for sharing your amazing photography! And I love that you allow your oldest to have ‘special’ alone reading time with you…it’s often difficult to make each child feel special…but so important. :)

    • Thanks, Vivian! His little brother gets one on one time every weekday between the two school pick-up times, so this is his time with me, even if we happen to not talk all the time. I’ve been reading him The One and Only Ivan because his brother wasn’t interested, so it’s nice one-on-one time too.

Leave a Reply

