These are a few of my favorite quotes

Last July, I shared a list of my favorite quotes I gathered as part of my 101 in 1001 challenge. Since then, I’ve run across a few more quotes I really liked and added to my list. Even though I’m on my second book since last week’s WWW Wednesdays update, I’m skipping it this week because my kids are on spring break and my time is limited. Instead I’m sharing a few more of these new favorite quotes below.

Feel free to share some of your favorite quotesif you think they’re missing from my list.

Friendship

Just walk beside me and be my friend.” - Albert Camus

Just walk beside me and be my friend.” – Albert Camus

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.” – Albert Camus
By far one of my most favorite quotes on the list of quotes I’ve gathered so far.

“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.” ~ Walter Winchell

Personal Identity

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” ~ George Bernard Shaw
When I read this quote the first time, I knew I had to read it again. It goes again almost everything we’ve been told in life, that we have to “find ourselves and our purpose”. If you think about it, life is more of a creative process than a discovery process. I also love the fact that creating is a lot more active than finding, which could be more random.

“Always remember that you don’t have to be what they want you to be.” ~ Mohammad Ali

Personal Growth

“Let go of the past and go for the future. Go confidently in the direction of your
dreams. Live the life you imagined.” ~ Henry David Thoreau
This is such a great quote, and something I should remind myself more often, especially in times of doubt.

Never lose an opportunity of seeing anything that is beautiful

Never lose an opportunity of seeing anything that is beautiful

Beauty

“Never lose an opportunity of seeing anything that is beautiful.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“There are three classes of people: those who see, those who see when they are shown and those who do not see.” ~ Leonardo da Vinci
I know people in each of these three categories. I always feel sorry for the latter and what they’re missing out.

Happiness

“If you want to be happy, be.” ~ Leo Tolstoy
It doesn’t get any easier than that.

“Learn to enjoy every minute of your life. Be happy now. Don’t wait for something outside of yourself to make you happy in the future. Think how really precious is the time you have to spend, whether it’s at work or with your family. Every minute should be enjoyed and savored.” ~ Earl Nightingale

“Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

“Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” ~ Buddha
What a beautiful concept about happiness!

Hope

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” ~ Oscar Wilde
When happiness is not enough, there’s always hope and all we have to do is look up.

18 responses to “These are a few of my favorite quotes

  1. I hadn’t heard a lot of these but that George Bernard Shaw quote is one of my favorites too. Hope you have a fun spring break! :)

  2. These are wonderful quotes. I love the last sentence of the Thoreau quote: “Live the life you imagined.” So simple yet so many of us don’t.

    • A lot of people probably don’t know how to get there and what steps to take, so they end up doing nothing. Something it’s tough to do when you don’t see a clear path, or there are a lot of hurdles along the way. That’s when perseverance pays off. As the saying goes, if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

  3. Loved your collection. Even in the gutter, it is our focus that counts, not our current circumstance. If we’re focused on improving ourselves–looking at the stars–we will.

  4. One of my favorite quotes is “Industry is the enemy of melancholy.” Feeling down? Do something productive!

  5. I love inspirational quotes. Being a pragmatist, however, my favourite quote is not inspirational, but instructional: Don’t put it down; put it away.

    Re the first one: I read another version:

    “Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. In fact, just bugger off and leave me alone.”

    :D

  6. Hi Milka,
    Thanks for sharing awesome quotes. They are necessary as they uplift and spur us on to achieve bigger and better things. :-)

  7. Wonderful quotes . . . including several of my favorites. I’ve got Ali’s quote on a coaster. As well as Gandhi’s. :D

Leave a Reply

