Goofy Monday: Chickens and butts, but no chicken butts

It’s another edition of Goofy Monday and this one is not R-rated like last week’s edition, but I think I still need to stick a PG-13 rating to it. What can I say, I live with two boys and I have a feeling it’s only going to get worse. Or better, depending if I’m on the receiving end.

Smells like…
Son #2 (hugging me goodnight): “Mama, you smell good! You smell like… chicken!”
I don’t think I’ve ever heard a guy say this to me, but from coming from my little man, I’ll take it as a compliment!

Tastes like…
Whenever I take my youngest to Souplantation for lunch, he likes to suck jello with a straw and extract “caterpillars” as a result (see below). Then he eats his caterpillar creations and comments on the taste:
“Mmmmmm, tastes like chicken!”
I’m starting to think I’m either smelling like cherry jello, or the Souplantation jello really tastes like chicken. I’m not sure which one to root for…

Jello caterpillar made with a straw

Jello caterpillar made with a straw

Butt crack
My kids like to play the Twister game. I can’t blame them, it’s a lot of fun, but I prefer to be the one turning the spinner and announcing the new positions because, well, my body doesn’t twist much. Once in a while though, I’ll take on the challenge and try to beat my kids at the game. And so I did a few days ago. As I was keeping up with the spinner and twisting more and more, this is what I kept hearing:
Son #2: “Mama, I can see your butt!”
Variant: “Mama, I see your butt crack!”
Note to self: don’t wear Old Navy low-rise jeans when playing Twister to avoid looking like a plumber crouching under the kitchen sink.

Look, I even have visual proof of our game. This is me as I started the game, and before my pants started coming down little by little with every twist. Notice how my son kindly cropped my upper body and face out of the frame when taking the picture with my cell phone. He may tell it like it is but he’s also a kind photographer.

Wear appropriate clothing when playing the Twister game

Wear appropriate clothing when playing the Twister game

I like big butts
Son#2: “Mama, you have a big butt!” (while slapping me on the butt)
Honestly, I don’t think I have a big butt as I’m far from being overweight, but I guess it may look big if your little face is at my butt level.

Have your children ever humiliated complimented your behind?

6 responses to “Goofy Monday: Chickens and butts, but no chicken butts

  1. You’re such a good mom to do these things with them. Nothing wrong with humiliating ourselves if it means fun interaction with our kids. My husband and I just spent 3 1/2 hours cleaning out our kitchen. Unbelievable how much stuff we had. My kids were helping off and on as well, and sometimes they were just doing their own thing, but doing it in the kitchen where we were. They’ll never admit it, but I know they were hanging out in there because they were having fun with us–teasing and humiliating us with their jokes, but of course, that’s what kids like to do to their parents. There were a few butt crack jokes directed to my husband as well. :)

    Just goes to show you don’t have to do anything special to have fun with your kids other than be with them. Just like your Twister game and straw-sucking jello creatures prove. :)

  2. Oh my goodness, Milka…love this post! Thank you so much for affording all of us happy smiles. :)
    No, my son’s never said I had a big butt…HOWEVER, my younger son would look me up and down before we would go out to the store…and tell me to change into my jeans or some other fashion comment. He also would throw his arm around my shoulder and sidle up real close when we were at the register and inform me that I had a chin hair and could he pull it out? YIKES!
    I love your banner…have you made a change recently…or did I just not notice how lovely it is?

  3. Hahah! That’s great that you guys have so much fun together. And just the fact that you can play Twister at all is pretty impressive. I’m not so sure I’d be able to move like that these days.

    • I think it definitely helps to be tall to play this game, so I don’t have to reach too hard. My youngest can’t go from one color on one side to the other side yet. I make him feel better by showing him the game says 6+ and he’s only 5. :-)

Leave a Reply

