WWW Wednesdays – March 20, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage,– What I’m currently reading
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage, a 2012 Newbery honor winner and New York Times bestseller. It’s another young adult novel and a murder story. I really like it so far.

– What I recently finished reading
Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks. This book wasn’t great but it was good enough for me because I wanted to keep turning the pages and find out how it would end, which is always a good thing. And the ending didn’t disappoint. Now, if you’ve seen the movie Sleeping With The Enemy, or read Anna Quindlen’s Black and Blue, you’ll find a lot of similarities in this book. There’s nothing in here that will surprise you about domestic abuse, besides the fact that it’s unacceptable and unbearable. The “twist” I kept hearing about at the end is an interesting twist, but not that dramatic that it blew my mind away. I cried reading The Notebook. I didn’t cry reading this book. It’s a good story and I’m sure it makes for a good movie, but I don’t think it will make it to “my best of” for 2013.

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, a Swedish writer. I found this book very entertaining. It’s not the next best thing in literature and it’s not what I’d call a page turner, but it made me laugh. Out loud in most cases. Allan Karlsson is quite a character, who is fond of both explosives and vodka, quite a deadly combination when mixed together… And he’s traveled the world and met some of the most influential leaders in his lifetime. Their personal conversations are a crack-up. I think it’s one of those books you enjoy reading during a summer vacation and I’d love to see it made into a movie too. It would make for two hours of great entertainment.

– What I think I’ll read next
I ordered a few books from the library but they’re taking time to come in. The first one there now is Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. It’s another young adult novel, a historical fictional that won several awards last year. Here’s the synposis, it looks chilling… Oct. 11th, 1943—A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s begun. When “Verity” is  arrested by the Gestapo, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce. I LOVE this book and the message it conveys. A powerful tornado blows Morris Lessmore to a colorless land. There he meets a lady drifting in the sky, being carried by flying books. She gives him one and the book leads him to a library where he learns that the books need him as much as he needs them. The whole story, as well as the ending and the illustrations, are beautiful and magical. My kids love this book too. It’s definitely going on my list of best children’s books for 2013. There was a short animated movie made from this book and it won an Oscar. It’s definitely worth watching these 15 minutes of pure wonder.

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce

I’m Bored by Michael Ian Black, who’s not just an actor but also a funny author. When a little girl who seems bored out of her mind meets a potato that tells her kids are boring, she goes on a mission to prove it wrong. She shows the potato all the things kids can do using their bodies and imagination. My kids find this book very funny and I do too!

I'm Bored by Michael Ian Black

I’m Bored by Michael Ian Black

– What they recently finished reading
The Cloud Spinner by Michael Catchpool. This is another of those magical books that carries you to an amazing imaginary land, where a boy can spin clouds into the most beautiful cloth. When his mother showed him how to do it, she also taught him moderation:” Enough is enough and not one stich more.” When the king orders the boy to make a huge wardrobe for the royal family out of the clouds in the sky, the boy warns him that it is more than he needs. What will happen when there are no more clouds in the sky? This is a great lesson about being greedy and taking from nature only what you need. I love the effects of the crackle varnish on the paintings.

The Cloud Spinner by Michael Catchpool

The Cloud Spinner by Michael Catchpool

Skippyjon Jones – Cirque de Ole by Judy Schachner. Well, it’s about time Skippito found his way to the circus, because that’s where he belongs and excels at what he does best: being a Chihuahua dog, even though he’s a Siamese cat. This book is as funny as the other Skippyjon Jones adventures and I really enjoyed Judy Schachner’s bright paintings.

Skippyjon Jones - Cirque de Ole by Judy Schachner

Skippyjon Jones – Cirque de Ole by Judy Schachner

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

13 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – March 20, 2013

  1. I just finished The Killing Floor. I’m still reading Char’s book, Secret Keepers, and I’m also just starting Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (the author of Gone Girl) for an online book discussion. So many good books, never, ever enough time!

  2. The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore looks FAB!

  3. Love those illustrations in the children’s books. They look really fun to read and get lost in. This week I read Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman. That was an emotional roller coaster…very good.

    • I’ve been able to get a bunch of the most popular children’s books of 2012 from the library and they all have been excellent. My son likes to just grab books off the shelf at the library but most of them are usually average so it’s good to look for recommendations.

  4. I’m going to have to move the 100-year-old man one up on my list. I’ve only been able to sit down to read The Giver once so far but I’m halfway through because it’s so good. I’ll have to read the other books from the series afterwards so I can somehow catch up on that reading challenge (though I’ll never catch up with you)!

    • I read each of the books in The Giver series in a couple of sittings because they’re so short and well written. So yes, they should help you catch up! It took me a lot longer to read the 100-year-old man (almost a week, I think), so be warned! I found the print very small, even with my reading glasses.

  5. Nicolas Sparks went to a high school down the street from me. He donated a high-tech track surface for the high school because he ran track there. That was nice . . .

Leave a Reply

