The music inside me

raindropsSince last night, it’s been raining here in San Diego and all I’ve got to look at is gray skies and raindrops. Today is one of those days when it feels good to sip some hot tea and listen to good music. So I’ve been playing my Pandora station while working on the computer and I just finished updating my list of Feel Good Songs on this blog.

There’s something magical about music, how it can grab you deep inside and make you feel happy, sad, ecstatic or nostalgic from one song to the next. I remember watching an interview with Sting, my favorite musician, where he said the best love songs are never about “she loves me, I love her”. Instead they’re always about “I love her, she loves someone else”.

Today I feel inspired to share a few famous quotes about music. Do you have quotes about music you’d like to share?

“Without music, life would be a mistake.” ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

“Music is an outburst of the soul.” ~ Frederick DeLuis

“Music is love in search of a voice.” ~ Leo Tolstoy

“Where words fail, music speaks.” ~ Hans Christian Anderson

“A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence.” ~ Leopold Stokowski

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” ~ Berthold Auerbach

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.”  ~ Billy Joel

“Music can change the world because it can change people.” ~ Bono

And here are a few of my feel-good songs. There are more on my Feel Good Songs page. Do you have some feel-good songs you’d like to share?

Good Life by OneRepublic – Name any other song that mentions both Paris and San Diego 10 seconds apart from each other?

Life is beautiful by Keb’ Mo’ – Ah, pure joy to my ears…

Grace Kelly by Mika – This is the one song that makes me get off my butt and start singing, dancing, and jumping up and down, with or without my kids.

I just haven’t met you yet by Michael Buble – So, if I want to meet the man of my dreams, all I have to do is go to the grocery store and start singing this song? Sorry, got to go shopping!

26 responses to “The music inside me

  1. “A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence.” ~ Perfect.

    Why is it Michael Buble is always playing over the PA at the grocery store? He have a contract with Safeway? Or is it that there are mostly women at the grocery store. Hence, no AC/DC.

  2. Ha! I just saw you liked my pun post. We are visiting each other at the same time. Weird.

  3. I love Grace Kelly by Mika, too as well as Babylon by David Gray, which I see you have on your “Feel Good Songs” page. I can’t imagine a world without music. Oddly enough, the only time I don’t like to listen to music is when I’m writing or working on the computer. I find it too distracting. I’m surprised so many writers can work to music, because I sure can’t. :)

  4. Great quotes. I love them. Music does just reach down and touch the depths of your soul. I love Michael Buble too; he’s one of my favorites.

  5. Music is one of the great joys of life. :D

  6. Music soothes the soul. :-)

  7. I love Sting too. For feel good music, I like the really upbeat sounding ones with fiddles or other crazy instruments (Mumford and Sons, Talking Heads, Los Lonely Boys). There’s a local folk singer (Zoë Lewis) with such happy sounding songs that you can’t help but be happy while hearing them.

Leave a Reply

