WWW Wednesdays – February 27, 2013

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

– What I’m currently reading 
The Lying game #4 - Hide and Seek by Sara ShepardThe Lying Game #4: Hide and Seek by Sara Shepard. I’m half way through and it’s still a guilty pleasure.

– What I recently finished reading
Die Trying by Lee Child. I just couldn’t put this book down and I felt it was better than the first Jack Reacher book, simply based on that reason. To me, a great book makes me want to keep flipping the pages, no matter the story or the topic. Jack Reacher is a mysterious and fascinating character. I really enjoyed following his train of thought, and his decision-making and deductive skills. I don’t want to give away the story, so I’ll just say I learned a lot about how the FBI and the various government branches work together (or not). I’m looking forward to reading more Jack Reacher books.

– What I think I’ll read next
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, which is based on the true story of a gorilla who lived in a cage inside a circus-theme mall in Washington State.

My kids’ bookshelf

Chloe And The Lion by Mac BarnettWhat they’re currently reading
Chloe And The Lion by Mac Barnett. Mac, the author of this book, fires Adam, the illustrator, over their differences on what should happen to Chloe. Then Mac hires another illustrator, who somehow reiterates what Adam previously said. So Mac decides to hire Adam back, but there’s a slight problem. Mac made the lion eat Adam and now, he’s not sure how to get him out… This hilarious story will probably make it to my top favorite children’s books of 2013. My kids can’t have enough of it and they ask to read it again and again.

–  Z Is For Moose by Kelly Bingham. This is another favorite read at our house right now (we’ve been very lucky with our book selections recently). Moose, is very eager to play his part in the alphabet book Zebra is putting together, until he reaches the page with the letter M and realizes he’s not on it. What happens next is the result of a very disappointed moose and quite a messy alphabet book, until Zebra finds a spot for Moose after all.

Big Chickens by Leslie Helakoski– What they recently finished reading 
We’ve enjoyed several books by Leslie Helakoski all around the same theme… big chickens! Each story follows the same recipe: the chickens enjoy time in the chicken coop but one of them wants to explore and spread his wings. Soon the rest of the chickens follow and they all get in trouble. Funny illustrations to go with adventure, peril, courage, and happy ending – what more could you ask for?
Big Chickens
Big Chickens Fly The Coop
Big chickens Go To Town

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

18 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – February 27, 2013

  1. I’m reading “The Secret Keeper” by Kate Morton for a book club. It’s really good so far, though it’s a bit long. But it’s definitely got me guessing as to the story behind the secret.

  2. You intrigue me with these Jack Reacher snippets. They sound good. I’ve got too much to read this year, but I am going to have to put that on my library list to get sometime.

  3. How did you hear about The One and Only Ivan? Sounds fascinating.

    • I think it was on an Amazon list at the beginning of the year, naming the best selling or favorite titles in each category, this one being young adult. That’s also where I got some very funny children’s books we recently read. The story of Ivan is made up, but the premise is real. Chilling.

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Love Big Chickens! You get through a lot of books. I need to upload my next book soon.

  5. Have you read Gone Girl yet?

  6. Milka, where do you find the time to read all those books? You go girl.

    • Haha, Tracy, I just don’t sleep. OK, and also, I read while my eldest reads on his own in the evening, after his brother goes to bed. We read side by side and that gives me about 45 minutes. That’s one of my favorite times of the day. If I have time to read more before I go to sleep, that’s even better.

  7. Z is for Moose sounds GREAT!

Leave a Reply

