Making changes to my 101 in 1001 list – my new goals for 2013

Last week, I updated my list of 101 tasks in 1001 days and shared a few of my accomplishments. This week, I’ve decided to make changes to my list so it aligns better with my goals for 2013, since my 101 in 1001 challenge happens to end in January 2014. Several times last year I found myself in limbo and suffered from inertia, as I was waiting for things here and there to happen before making my move. This year, I have a clearer idea of where I want my life to head. Will I get there? I have no clue but I won’t know until I work at it.

I realized that among all the negative, I have a hard time remembering all the good things that happened to us in 2012. So this year, we’re trying something new. I’m not putting this on my 101 in 1001 list but I’m still doing with my boys. We’re using a jar to keep track of the “good things that happened in 2013”. Look, there are already a few things in there!

Jar of good things that happened in 2013

Jar of good things that happened in 2013

I believe this will be a great way to focus on the positive and help us recall at the end of the year all the good things that happened to us but we may have forgotten along the way.

Here are the big changes to my 101 in 1001 list…

98) Get one or more massages
I’m deleting this because I don’t care about getting massages and honestly, I don’t want someone to touch my ultra sensitive back and mess something up. So I’m replacing it with something I’ve been thinking of doing for a long time. I want 2013 to be the year of happy and nice and so I’m choosing this BIG challenge:
98) Perform 52 intentional / random acts of kindness (3/52)
I added “intentional” because I might need a little reinforcement and reminder. These can be very simple acts of kindness, or more elaborate. I’ll figure it out as the opportunity arises and I’ll keep tract of them and share my list at the end of the year. Believe it or not, I already have 3 acts of kindness completed. Who knew? By the way, if you’d like to join me on this challenge but you’re not sure what you could do, there are a lot of ideas on the Random Acts of Kindness Foundation website.

52 random acts of kindness

52 random acts of kindness

86) Get at least 7 hours of sleep every night
I’m changing this to:
86) Go to sleep by 11pm every night.
It doesn’t seem like a drastic change but I need to force myself to be in bed by a specific time rather than focus on the hours of sleep I may be getting.

48) Learn 3 to 5 new words every week and keep a log of them (20/143)
I’ve been working on this goal but not keeping track of it, and I need a task number for something else so I’m deleting it and replacing it with:
48) Post book reviews on both Goodreads and Amazon (0/1)
I’m not sure how to measure this but I’ll mark it complete once it has become a habit for me, at least for the Amazon part since I write review on Goodreads more regularly.

37) Post once a week to my new freelance writing website’s blog (0/143)
I didn’t create this writing site and instead created my photography website, so I’m changing my challenge to dedicate room for it on my weekly schedule:
37) Post three times a week to my new nature photography website (3/168)

35) Send 100 article queries to magazines and publications (0/100)
At this point, I’m more interested in promoting my photos than my writing (I still plan to write this year), so I’m changing this goal to something that will increase exposure to my photos:
35) Participate in the Project 365 – 2013 by posting new photos two to four times a week on my photography Facebook page and the Project 365 – 2013 Facebook page (2/156)

36) Post once a week to my Perfecting Motherhood blog (73/143)
I originally created this task because I wasn’t writing on a regular basis. I found my new groove about a year ago so I’ve decided to replace this task with something else I’m not doing but should be:
36) Post new photos on my Pinterest page 3 times a week (0/168)

39) Post photographs and other art for sale on Zazzle.com and a few other similar websites (0/1)
I’ve realized this goal is too vague and not getting done (I’ve got a lot of those!). I’m replacing it with these 2 goals:
39) Create new products for sale on my Zazzle store twice a week (0/112)

40) Attend a writers’ meeting several times a year (0/10)
For the same reason, I’m replacing it with:
40) Identify up to two other websites to post my photos for sale and post new photos once a week (0/56)

This should be it. Wish me luck! To view my list as it stands now and how much I’ve accomplished so far, go to my 101 in 1001 page. Remember, it’s never too late to join!

34 responses to “Making changes to my 101 in 1001 list – my new goals for 2013

  1. I like your jar of positive things and your acts of kindness plan. Great ideas. Good luck with your impressive list of goals. :)

    • Thank you, Carrie! I really want to infuse lots of positive vibes in our lives this year. My boys love the jar of good things and keep thinking of what could go in there, it’s very cute.

      As for my goals, I learned from last year that not breaking them down in small tasks leaves them undone. So this year, I’ve come up with a to-do list for each to make sure I get traction. It’s a long list but I hope the baby steps will help.

      • When my kids were younger and more in the fit-throwing stage, we had a yelling jar. If my husband yelled, he put in a quarter; if I yelled, I put in a dime; if my oldest yelled, he put in a nickle; and if my youngest yelled, he put in a penny. Then, at the end of the year, we counted them out. Whoever had the least amount of their coin type yelled the least, and they got to keep all the money. It really worked great. I would have kept it going, but we really didn’t yell enough after that to warrant it. :) If you’re interested, my oldest son won–beat me by a few coins. Dang him!

      • Oh my gosh, what a great idea! We should do a yelling / swearing jar for this! I know for sure I’d lose all my quarters in there, but I’m not sure who would collect the money at the end of the year. Now you’re tempting me to try it out…

      • It was actually pretty fun, and I’m impressed we kept it up through the year. Ideally I’d like to say the jar was empty at the end, but I’d be lying. Who, except apparently Dr. Phil’s wife who said she never raised her voice to her children once (yeah, right), doesn’t yell at times? I kind of suspected my oldest would win, because he was pretty chill. Of course, if we did a jar now for grunts and eye rolls, he would be the worst offender. :)

      • Oh, eye rolls and grunts! Both my kids lose at that game!

  2. Love the more-specific goals. And especially the random acts of kindness one. That’s a great one! And I like the jar idea to help you remember the good times. We so easily forget those.

    • Isn’t it funny how we love the good moments when they happen but we forget them so quickly? It will be nice to go through them at the end of the year. I may even keep the best ones and display them somewhere in our house.

      As for the random acts of kindness, I think our world could use a lot more of those, so I’m intentionally doing my share this year!

      • I think I’ll join you. My husband just took our son out to shovel sidewalks and driveways for a few older ladies who can’t get out too well (we got a ton of snow today). And my son was so excited when he came back because he said the one lady cried…and then they got to stop help push some other lady’s stuck car out of the neighborhood and get her going. Being nice just feels better than anything else.

      • Yeah, I’m so glad! This reminds me of when I was in CT. I lived in an apartment complex on top of a hill. Every time it snowed, it would take forever for the snow ploughs to come and people would get stuck going up. We’d often bundle up and go out to push cars. I really hated the snow but that was my way to get back at it for trying to get people stuck!
        Tonight I built a shelter out of a box and blankets for a cat that’s been hanging out at our house for the past couple of weeks. I’ve been feeding her since the beginning and now I feel bad about the cat being outside when it’s so cold. I need to figure out if she belongs to anyone before deciding what to do with her…

      • I wish she was here. My son saw a mouse while he was outside playing in the snow.

      • You know, that’s one reason I like to have this girl around. She hangs out a lot in our yard and jumps over the back wall every time she hears a noise. I’m hoping she can catch the darn squirrels that come and eat everything in my garden. Make she can scare them away once and for all, or just get rid of them. I’ll feed her all the cat food she wants if I can collect food from my garden!

  3. Wow. Ambitious list. I love the jar of good things that happened during the year. How fun it will be to read them all at the end of the year. Oh, and for the second time today I read about Ann Curry’s random act thing. Where have I been?

    • Oh, Ann Curry is doing random acts of kindness? See what happens when you don’t have TV? Well, it’s good to encourage people to be kinder toward other people, animals and our planet in general.

      I need to hop over to your blog to catch up. I can only follow your blog through WP and not by email, so I have to reminders in my face to do that. :-(

  4. I love the idea of having a Good Things That Happened Jar. What a beautiful reminder of the happy times.

    I wish you well on your goals. :-)

  5. 48) To measure it, why not say you must do it once a month? 0/12

    • That’s a good idea, Tilly! I usually update Goodreads once a week, so I should be doing Amazon at the same time. Let me go and change that to 0/50, to give myself a couple of weeks to update my Amazon reviewer account.

  6. I like the very specific goals, which is probably the point of having to come up with 101 goals. I tend to come up with things that are vague and easily forgotten, I would think the more specific goals work better.

    What do you think of the microstock photo sites ? The ones where you license your photos for use, like Shutterstock or istockphoto.

    • I had some pretty vague goals last year and they didn’t move along much. This year I’m learning from past experience and the hardest part has been to identify the small steps to complete the goals. I have no idea if the steps will help me reach my goals eventually but I want to give it my best and come up with different ideas later if these don’t work.
      I’ve thought about putting some of my photos for sale on photo sites. I’m just not sure how many people would want to buy the type of images I take. I’m thinking most users of these sites are business people and they prefer photos of people doing things, but I might be wrong. I definitely will check it out, at least for the good paying ones. I’m not one of those people who gets excited to make 5 cents on a photo! When I see how many people work less than minimum wage to take on huge projects (e.g. for all those writing mills), I can’t stop thinking how much harm they do to the rest of us who would like to be paid fairly for our experience and skills.

  7. Love the idea of random acts of kindness. In Hebrew a good deed is called a mitzvah and doing it anonymously is considered doing it in its highest form.

  8. It sounds like you’re going to be really busy in 2013! :) Great idea to focus on all the good things and I love the jar too – it’ll be great to see it all filled up!

  9. Love your changes, Milka! The Random Acts of Kindness…good things that have happened in 2013 jar are GREAT ideas! Best of luck in 2013…may it be a year of good health, much happiness and filled with all of the success you deserve.:)

  10. Your jar is a brilliant idea. I need to change some of mine too as they aren’t possible as in give blood – can’t because of Crohn. Good luck with your revised listt.

  11. Love the list and love the jar. What a great idea! Happy 2013 to you! :)

  12. Pingback: The pursuit of happiness | Perfecting motherhood

  13. Are you going to update how much you did last year? Hope all was productive :)

Leave a Reply

