WWW Wednesdays – December 19, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

If you participate in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and you would like to see my contribution to this week’s theme Delicate, hop on to my photography website.

Again, my WWW Wednesdays update is one day late because it’s been a hectic week so far. I’m mostly done with my Christmas shopping and I’ve started wrapping up some presents, but I haven’t sent most of my Christmas cards yet. Yikes!

My bookshelf

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry– What I’m currently reading 
Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry, which similarly to her book The Giver, which I read recently, describes a futuristic world. I’m two thirds through and I really like it.

– What I recently finished reading
A Wanted Man by Lee Child. This is the first time I’ve read a Jack Reacher novel. I believe this is the 19th book in the series, so it’s never too late to start! I understand a number of Jack Reacher fans were disappointed but having nothing to compare it to, I liked this book. It was entertaining, it kept me wanting to turn the pages, and it had some twists and turns (some of them predictible, others not so much). The ending left me scractching my head a bit but otherwise I enjoyed reading this story. I definitely want to read the first Jack Reacher novel and see where it all started from. Now, how Tom Cruise managed to be cast to play 6 foot 5 inch tall Reacher, I’m not sure, but I hope he’s planning to buy a pair of stilts!

– What I think I’ll read next
I have two more books by Lois Lowry to finish The Giver Series, so I can’t wait!

My kids’ bookshelf

The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear What they’re currently reading
The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear by Don and Audrey Wood. Who doesn’t love this book? I think I borrow it from the library twice a year and we keep it for about a month.

By the way, to continue with my previous post on my little artists, here’s what my four-year old drew for his book report on this story. This is his rendering of one of the pages inside the book, when the mouse is about to pick the red, ripe strawberry. What a cute little mouse!

The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear - child drawing

The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear – child drawing

Merry Christmas, Big Hungry Bear! by Don and Audrey Wood. Until last week, I had no idea this book even existed. What a pity! It’s very sweet and perfect to read around the holidays. It’s going on our list of Christmas books to read every year from now on.

Anatole by Eve Titus– What they recently finished reading
Anatole and Anatole and the Cat by Eve Titus. My six-year old and I love these books! Anatole is a French mouse who decides to stop stealing people’s scraps and instead earn an honest living by tasting the cheese in a cheese factory and leaving notes about its quality. The factory owner soon praises Anatole but his exquisite taste and suggestions but when he asks to meet him, Anatole decides to remain anonymous. Can you blame him? In Anatole and the Cat, poor Anatole’s position at the factory is compromised when a cat starts to roam around at night and Anatole can’t leave accurate notes.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

34 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – December 19, 2012

  1. I’ve been wondering about reading Lee Child’s books. Maybe I’ll have to give them a second look. Of course, my reading queue is already so long. Arrgghh!

  2. Do you know if the Anatole book is a new edition? I thought they might be out of print.

  3. I’ll have to try one of those Jack Reacher books. The newest one keeps popping up on my screen when my kindle is resting. And I loved the Giver, so will have to try his other one too. I hadn’t heard about that one.

  4. I heard Lee Child interviewed on the radio yesterday. Made me want to read the series. I hadn’t heard of them until recently with the Tom Cruise movie coming out (or is it out already?).

    • I’d never heard about it either until my book club picked it. You just wonder about casting for characters though. Jack Reacher is six foot five and very dense and impressive. How Tom Cruise got the role, I have no idea but I can imagine Jack Reacher fans are not happy with this choice.

  5. I can’t remember the exact title, but I like the Reacher novel I read. Tom Cruise at 3 foot 2 to play Reacher? It’d be like Danny Devito playing John Wayne. Really doesn’t make sense.

    Tim

    • A friend of mine saw the movie last night and said on Facebook Cruise managed to pull it off. Someone else asked if the casting crew was under orders to pick only actors shorter than Cruise… I’m waiting for the first Jack Reacher to get to my library so I can read where it all started from.

  6. Gathering Blue sounds like a good one – I’ll have to add it to my ever-growing list (for some reason, I love having a long to-read list)! Futuristic books always seem to be depressing though – has it been very depressing so far?

    • Every book in the series has the same premise. A character lives in a futuristic world that seems acceptable to him/her. Until… something/someone happens that makes him/her realize the world is not so perfect and changes need to be made, and the main character sees how he/she can initiate the changes. I found each book very inspiring and hopeful, giving me faith in human nature. The Hunger Games are very dark and gruesome in comparison. Each though I liked that series, I enjoyed The Giver series a lot more. Beautiful storytelling, hope and faith did it for me. And I’d suggest you read each book in the right order, since they connect so well together in a somewhat chronological order. On top of my list of read books for this year. This reminds me I need to work on that list ASAP!

      • That sounds really good – you’ve convinced me! I try to stay away from the really depressing ones. I’ll be looking forward to your top books for the year.

      • Start with The Giver. If you really like it (and I doubt you won’t), then read the next one. I would really read them close to each other in time, since they’re connected. It made for a more intense experience.

  7. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

  8. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – January 2, 2013 | Perfecting motherhood

  9. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – February 20, 2013 | Perfecting Motherhood

Leave a Reply

