WWW Wednesdays – December 12, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

If you participate in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and you would like to see my contribution to this week’s theme Changing Seasons, hop on to my photography website. While there, you may also enjoy looking at a few photos of tiny raindrops on spider webs I took this past week.

My WWW Wednesdays update is one day late but I’ve read two great books in the past three weeks and I’ve got wonderful children’s books to share too.

My bookshelf

A Wanted Man by Lee Child– What I’m currently reading 
A Wanted Man by Lee Child, for my book club meeting. I’ve never read a Jack Reacher novel and I understand this is probably not the best one. If I like it, I’ll definitely read more.

– What I recently finished reading
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I loved this book for two main reasons:
1) I don’t believe I’ve ever read a book where Death was the narrator. To me, it was a unique angle to tell the story and I thought it was a brilliant idea, especially considering the subject of the book (WWII Germany).
2) I can’t remember if I’ve read a book about WWII from the German perspective in the past. I’ve read a lot of novels on WWII (fiction and non-fiction) and it’s always been told from a Jewish or invadee angle. It was a very insightful to read such a story.
Two things I’m not too crazy about:
1) I thought the ending was wrapped up a little too fast. Yes, Death apologizes for this fact, but still, a few more pages would have helped.
2) I was surprised to see the Sydney reference. I saw afterwards the author is from Sydney but I’m not sure it was necessary to this story as it could have remained in Europe (it would have been more credible to me).
Overall, I really, really enjoyed reading this book, although “enjoyed” may not be the right word considering the subject. This is definitely one of these books with a lot of visual clues that could be made into a great movie.

The Giver by Lois Lowry. Way before The Hunger Games, there was The Giver. It’s one of the first and most popular young adult novels on a futuristic, dystopian society and after reading it, I see why. A very short read, The Giver describes a society where people feel no pain, no fear and they are all at peace. Everything is decided for them: their career, their partner, their children… When Jonas turns 12, he’s not assigned a career like the other children but instead is selected to be the next Receiver. The Giver is to provide him with all the memories of the past generations and this process is an eye opener for Jonas. I can’t say more without spoilers so I’ll just say I really, really liked this book. I just found out yesterday that after almost 20 years, Lois Lowry has just published the sequel to The Giver. She previously published two other books (Gathering Blue and Messenger) that were partially related to The Giver, but Son is the direct sequel to The Giver and I can’t wait to read it.

– What I think I’ll read next
I’m not sure since I have no library book waiting for me, but I just ordered a few more, so hopefully they’ll come by the time I’m done with my new book.

My kids’ bookshelf

Room on the Broom by Julia DonaldsonWhat they’re currently reading
Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson. This book by the same author (and the same illustrator too) of The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo’s Child is one of our favorite right now. A witch allows several animals to ride with her on her broom until the broomstick breaks and they all fall down. A ferocious, fiery dragon suddenly appears and decides to have the witch for dinner. Who will save the witch? (that’s the best part)
My Snake Blake by Randy Siegel (illustrated by a French artist). A boy receives a very long, green snake from his father for his birthday. His mother is less than pleased until the snake proves he’s not only kind, but also very smart (he can write words with his own body!) and talented. A very sweet story, except the part where the snake teaches a lesson to the school bully (my kids LOVED that part!).

Good news bad news by Jeff Mack– What they recently finished reading
Good News, Bad News by Jeff Mack. These are pretty much the two phrases repeated throughout the book, which is perfect for my 4-year old who could read the book on his own and laughed at every page. While on a picnic, Bunny sees only the good, while Mouse sees only the bad. And Murphy’s Law is in action on every page!
Hippo and Rabbit: Three Short Tales by Jeff Mack. We’ve borrowed this book in the past and it’s always a big hit at our house, especially when the thunder goes KA-BOOM! across the page. These stories are in comic strip format and my youngest reads the words with little prompting.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

7 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – December 12, 2012

  1. I’m still plowing through “The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.” I have about 70 pages left. It’s good, but the point-of-view changes are wearing on me. A new character was introduced as far as page 326 (out of about 470) pages, and now I have to try to get into his head, too. I don’t mind POV changes, but I like all the characters introduced early on.

    • I don’t like POV changes much, especially when they don’t add much to the story. Jodi Picoult is one of those authors who changes POV every few chapters and I can’t stand her books.

      • My current WIP will have three different POVs, but sometimes with thrillers that’s necessary. I don’t mind them when they’re alternated at regular intervals; I think it can even up the suspense at times, but this one is testing my patience.

      • If several POVs add to the story and makes it more compelling/interesting, I’m all for it. If they’re there just because it’s the writer’s style and doesn’t add anything, I say get rid of it.

  2. Room on the Broom sounds FUN. Hope the library queues up some more good reads for you.

    • Room on the Broom is hilarious and I’m glad we got to read it. I think the library has a lot of children’s books on hold for us, but I’m worried they don’t have anything I requested available yet. I’m going to have to order more books and see what comes first!

  3. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

