WWW Wednesdays – November 28, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

The book thief by Markus Zusack– What I’m currently reading 
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I like it so far. The choice of narrator for the story keeps me on edge for sure.

– What I recently finished reading
Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other by Sherry Turkle. I can see Turkle spent a lot of time gathering the research needed to write this book. The results of her research are quite fascinating and it’s surprising how people can react to technology. The conclusions she draws from studying people’s interactions with pet robots is very interesting. I laughed at the comments people made about Disneyworld’s Animal Kingdom, where using real animals didn’t appear as “realistic” as the animatronic creatures used in other parts of the park! By reading all the positive things adults and children alike have to say about robots, you can’t help wondering if robots will replace humans in various parts of our lives in the future. As for technology like cell phones, social sites and online communities, Turkle show clear evidence the younger crowd prefers this way of communication over face-to-face discussions, which is quite concerning. She also explains how 9/11 changed our relationships with cell phones, when we realized we had to be able to get a hold of everyone and anyone at any time, in case something happened. I didn’t like the density of this book, which was full of so much research, it made it hard for me to read. But if you can read through all the data, there’s a lot of good stuff in there.

– What I think I’ll read next
The Giver by Lois Lowry. It’s been on my to-read list for a while and last time I had it, I had to return it to the library get I could read it. Now, I can’t wait!

My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Several books by Leo Lionni, including:
Little Blue and Little Yellow, where the two colored dots are friends and manage to merge as one green dot. They get scared when they try to go back home and their parents tell them they don’t belong there (wrong color).
The Extraordinary Egg, a very funny book where one frog finds an egg and shows it to the other two. One of them, who “knows everything about everything” says it’s a chicken egg. When the egg hatches, she confirms, “I was right, it is a chicken”. Yep, just take a look!

The extraordinary egg by Leo Lionni

The extraordinary egg by Leo Lionni

– What they recently finished reading
Zen Ties by Jon J. Muth, a favorite children’s book author and illustrator of ours. Stillwater, the big panda, goes to the train station to welcome his little nephew Koo. “Hi, Koo”, he said, a play on words with “haiku”, which is how Koo talks throughout the book. I love all of the Stillwater stories and how they each teach a kind lesson. This one is about taking care of an elderly woman who may have something to teach the kids. And Muth’s watercolors are so colorful and beautiful, they almost look magical. It’s a pleasure to keep turning the pages.

Zen ties by Jon Muth

Zen ties by Jon Muth

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

16 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – November 28, 2012

  1. Catherine Johnson

    I keep forgetting about The book Thief. I should order it from the library. The panda one sounds good too :)

  2. You always impress me with your reading range. I’m diving into some literary fiction right now (taking a break from my usual thriller) and reading The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. Just started it, so I haven’t yet formed an opinion, but I’ve heard amazing things about it.

  3. The Zen Ties books sounds delightful. Gorgeous illustration too.

    • Jon Muth also wrote Zen Ghosts and Zen Shorts, as well as several other books. I might review Zen Shorts soon, which is where we first meet Stillwater the giant panda and he introduces us to Zen Buddhism. I love how he doesn’t dumb down any of his stories, knowing that children are smart enough to understand them.

  4. The Book Thief has been on my “to read” list for a while and just this morning I was thinking maybe that one should be next. I’ve heard so many great things about it. The book on technology sounds like a good one too. :)

    • Alone Together is very good, but as I said, it is quite dense with research, so it all depends how much you want to know. I learned how a lot of the younger crowd treats its cell phones, social media, etc and I’m a little concerned for my kids! I can’t believe kids don’t want to pick up the phone anymore, it’s scary.

      As for The Book Thief, I really like it so far, including the style of it and the way the story is told. Very different from most books, which makes it interesting.

  5. I love The Book Thief! You will like The Giver. I wasn’t happy with the follow-up books to it (Gathering Blue, etc.), but I really liked The Giver.

    • Thanks for sharing! I’m disappointed to hear the follow-up books to The Giver aren’t as good, but I might give them a try. Does it make sense to read The Giver only, or does it end in a cliffhanger? I don’t feel like reading the next books all in a row.

  6. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

