The yummiest turkey you’ll ever eat – no cooking required

I want to wish all of you a very happy Thanksgiving holiday. I hope you have plenty to be thankful for this year, no matter how good or bad things have been for you in 2012. I’ll share a few things I’m thankful for in this year full of small and big, fun and painful challenges:

– My kids: I’m grateful for their love, their determination, their brightness, their inquisitiveness and their creativity.

– My health: after a couple of health scares, I seem to be OK. Fingers crossed.

– My family and friends: I’m grateful to be surrounded with people who have nothing but love, help and support to offer me. I have formed close relationships with a few friends this past year and I feel so lucky and blessed to have met such wonderful women.

– The blogosphere: I’m grateful to have met so many interesting people I would never have had the opportunity to meet in person. I’ve also found lots of support in the blogosphere during my trying experiences and the launch of my new enterprise (my photography website) this year.

What are you thankful for this year?

And now, I invite you to have a little fun on your Thanksgiving day by making the yummiest turkey you’ll ever eat. The best part? You won’t have to cook it for hours! My son did this in his class last week and his brother and I helped a bit to finish it. All you need is a red apple, toothpicks, raisins, cranberries, marshmallows (1 big one, several little ones) and a gummy worm. If you’re looking for Thanksgiving craft activities to keep little kids entertained, this is a great one to try. I present you turkey art!

Thanksgiving craft - make a turkey with an apple

Thanksgiving craft – make a turkey with an apple

Happy Turkey Day!

14 responses to “The yummiest turkey you’ll ever eat – no cooking required

  1. I’m glad that your health scare seems to be at bay. Here’s wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving. I’ll be heading out bright and early tomorrow to visit family. It’s been a long time since I haven’t made the meal myself, so this will be a nice treat. And for that, I am thankful. :)

  2. OMG . . . it’s hedda gobbler! :D

    Happy Thanksgiving. I’m thankful that I will NEVER have to cook a turkey again. Just the sides, ma’am. Just the sides. :D

  3. That’s a great turkey!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family :)

  4. What a cute turkey…and I love that you don’t have to cook for hours. Love all that you are thankful for. I ditto those things in my life. Have a great day!

  5. LOVE the edible turkey craft!!!! I will have to add this to my craft ideas notebook…when I make one and stop writing these great ideas down on scraps of paper and then stuffing them into manila envelopes…I;ve just learned to keep a picture book idea notebook (thanks to PiBoIdMo)…so why not a craft idea notebook!
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful post, Milka…I’m thankful for you. :)

    • Great idea about the notebook! Although I started a notebook last year for children’s book ideas and drawing ideas, but then I used it whenever I had to take notes for my work projects, to-do lists, etc so it was used for everything and anything, except its original intent! But sure, it beats sticky notes and scraps of paper! I need to get better organized and I have all the tools I need to do that. I just need to implement the whole thing…

      I’m glad you enjoyed the turkey craft. I thought it was too cute not to share and yes, use it and share it too. Thanks for your kind words and have a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  6. My grandma used to make a similar turkey out of apples and I totally forgot until I saw your post. Thanks for bringing back a good memory.

  7. Pingback: WordPress weekly photo challenge: Thankful | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

