A thank you and a recipe for drooling

Before I forget, if you participate in the WordPress weekly photo challenge and would like to see my entry, go over to my photography website since it’s where I posted it this week.

I’d like to thank those of you who kindly accepted my invitation to like my Facebook fan page for my photography work yesterday. If you haven’t done so, please go to the page and like it. I’d really appreciate it.

By the way, Zazzle’s great coupon has been extended for one more day! Use 50VETDAYSALE at checkout and get my calendar for 50% off! You can also get 40% off my ornaments and 15% off on most other products, so visit my Zazzle store now.

Now, I want to follow up on a recent photo challenge theme that seems to have produced a lot of drooling. Do you remember which one? It was about geometry and the photo in question was this one:

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Geometry - square of a birthday cake

WordPress weekly photo challenge: Geometry – square of a birthday cake

I know a picture is worth a thousand words but I thought you might actually want to taste this cake yourself, so… are you ready? I’m sharing its recipe. But wait, there’s a catch. It’s in French!

Alright, calm down, I didn’t say I’d post the recipe in French. I’m just saying my recipe is in French so I’ll have to translate for you. Now, I’m not a professional food writer and you should watch me cook. I read between the lines when I follow a recipe. So I’ll probably use non-fancy terms but I’m sure you’ll get most of it right when you try it. And I have to translate all the measurements from metric to US. That is the worst, by the way. Come on America, get on with the metric system, already! You’ll need a scale for this recipe, alright?

The best chocolate cake you’ll ever eat

(aka I can’t believe French people are not fat eating this stuff)

Ingredients
– 4 and 1/2 oz of dark chocolate (70% best)
– 3 eggs
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
– A little bit less than 1/2 cup of flour (it’s actually 2/5 cup)
– A little bit less than 1/2 cup of cornstarch (it’s actually 2/5 cup)
– 1 stick of butter (softened but not melted)
– A pinch of salt
For the chocolate cream:
– 1 cup of heavy cream
– 7 oz. of dark chocolate

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a square baking pan or use non-stick spray.
– Melt chocolate on low heat with two tablespoons of water and one tablespoon of butter. Let cool down.
– In a large bowl, beat the rest of the butter, the sugar and the vanilla with an electric beater. Add the egg yolks one by one and beat until volume has doubled. Add the chocolate and mix everything together.
– With a spatula, slowly add the flour and cornstarch and mix.
– In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt until firm. Add them to the mix slowly.
– Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 40 minutes or until cooked. Remove cake from pan and set aside to cool down.
– In a sauce pan, bring the heavy cream to boil and take off the stove. Slowly add the chocolate in small chunks and mix with a wooden spoon until all the chocolate is melted. The mixture should be smooth and shiny. Let it cool down until it firms up a little.
– Slice the cake in two halves horizontally. Spread some of the cream on the bottom part and put the top part back on. Spread the rest of the cream on top of the cake with a spatula, making wavy patterns.
– Keep in fridge until serving time.

That’s it! It’s really not that complicated and it’s absolutely delicious. Are you ready to satisfy your drool?

15 responses to “A thank you and a recipe for drooling

  1. I have bookmarked this page for future reference. It looks so yummy! But I agree with you–we really need to adopt the metric system. Like 20 years ago…

  2. Thanks for posting that! I am ready to get my drool on…although I might have to wait until after the holidays or else I’ll put on the pounds. There is already too much we are going to eat in the next couple weeks. I’m trying to be better this year. So maybe January…to kick off my New Year’s resolutions that I won’t keep.

  3. I was just telling my son that I had to figure out what kind of cake I want for my birthday next month. Et voila! Problem solved! :)

  4. Yummy! We baked Oatmeal Raisin cookies tonight . . . or I’d feel seriously deprived right about now.

    • Good for you! I love oatmeal raisin cookies but my kids always say they don’t like them so we don’t make them. I can’t even remember the last time they had oatmeal raisin cookies and said they didn’t like them. Maybe I should just make some!

  5. If you love chocolate? Do I ever!!!! And this looks like a cake that is so rich, you only need the tiniest sliver to feel satisfied…and I think that is how the French do it…they eat magnificently decadent foods…but in very small portions. :) Thanks for the delicious looking recipe!

  6. The cake looks divine! I wish we were in the metric system – I have the best cupcake cookbook I found in a little bookstore in London but I have to convert everything. So, basically, I just look at the pictures and dream about the cupcakes because I am too lazy to translate the measurements!

    • It is very hard to convert weights into volume. I personally think weight is the best way to go for recipes. It’s very accurate, no matter the type of ingredients and shapes they’re in. Weight is weight, volume varies too much to be accurate. And I love American recipes where you have to stick a fraction of the butter stick and the lines on the wrapping paper never align with the stick.

Leave a Reply

