WWW Wednesdays – November 7, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other by Sherry Turkle– What I’m currently reading 
Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other by Sherry Turkle. Look at the book cover, it says it all. A few weeks ago, I heard an NPR interview with this author discussing her new book and my interest was tickled.

– What I recently finished reading
The Cow in the Parking Lot: A Zen Approach to Overcoming Anger by Leonard Scheff & Susan Edmiston. Disclaimer: I read this book because I was hired to help promote it, but this review is my personal opinion of the book.
I like how this book goes beyong the common anger management techniques you always hear about. It takes a new approach by encouraging us to overcome anger by changing our mindset and lifestyle. This will in return lead to positive, long-term effects on us and the people around us. There are a number of exercises throughout the book that force us to stop and think. They help us identify our common anger trigger points, understand how we react to negative events, and how we can slowly develop a new approach to handle these events. I like how the book encourages all of us to become more giving and caring towards others, something we tend to forget in this fast spinning world. I enjoyed reading quotes from Buddha, as well as famous Buddhists and researchers. I knew some of the Zen stories that start each chapter from reading them in children’s books with my kids. They illustrate how damaging angry and negative feelings can be when you keep them in. I don’t consider myself an angry person but I know a few people who can have a hard time dealing with upsetting events, no matter how big or small. This is a great book to give to people who are open to changing their angry behavior patterns and create a calmer life for themselves. And if you’re a parent who sometimes feel frustrated and stuck in a rut when it comes to dealing with your kids, this book offers sound advice on how to find new ways to approach and solve your frustration.

– What I think I’ll read next
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, which has been on my to-read list for a while now. If you’ve read it, I’d love to hear what you thought of it, but please, no spoilers!

My kids’ bookshelf

Cat Tale by Michael HallWhat they’re currently reading
Cat Tale by Michael Hall. This is a hilarious book using homophones and tongue twisters! My kids LOVE how the story suddenly turns very silly when the words start getting mixed up.
“From word to word they find their way, Lillian, Tilly, and William J… They spot some ewes. They use a box. They box some fleas…” Get it?
Beetle McGrady eats bugs! by Megan McDonald. Beetle Mc Grady wants to be an explorer, an adventurer and find the courage to eat an ant. With Fun with Food Week in her school science class, this second-grader may actually eat a whole assortment of bugs… You have to read this book just to read about “the cricket leg stuck in her tooth” and see the picture that goes with it!

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson– What they recently finished reading
The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo’s Child by Julia Donaldson. By popular demand, we have read and reread these two wonderful rhyming books about a little mouse who outsmarts every animal in the forest, including the frightful gruffalo. But wait, there’s no such thing as a gruffalo. Or, is there? If you have the opportunity, watch The Gruffalo DVD, narrated by Helen Bonham Carter. It’s brilliant.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

15 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – November 7, 2012

  1. You’re flying through books . . . the name Book Thief rings a bell, but I don’t think I read it.

    Alone Together is so true ~ the more connected we become, the more disconnected we feel.

    • The Book Thief came out a few years ago as a youth novel but maybe adults read it too. When you hear my review, I’m sure it will ring a bell.

      Interesting comment you said: “the more connected we become, the more disconnected we feel”. The author studies mostly children and young adults and I think your statement would be more appropriate as this: “the more connected we become, the more disconnected we ARE.” Those kids don’t even realize how disconnected they are from other people. I can’t wait to read the whole thing. It’s definitely an important subject.

  2. Nice to see that the book offers constructive approaches to deal with anger rather than just discussing the issue. Sometimes we’re left with knowledge of the problems but no solutions.

    I’m reading Kathy Reichs novel “Flash and Bones.” She writes forensic mysteries. Quick reads but usually pretty entertaining.

    • My best friend loves to read Patricia Cornwell but I don’t think I’ve ever read a single one. She’s even met her in person when she came to visit her DNA identification lab (she works for the government). Maybe you should visit flu clinics to sign your book. ;-)

      That book on overcoming anger is very interesting because it shows people that if you take a look at the event that causes the anger a different way, you may find a reason to let go of your anger. It always explains that nobody ever gains anything from being angry, but there’s a lot to be gained being the opposite. It definitely made me think, which is a good thing!

  3. I wish I could read as fast as you!

  4. We borrowed The Gruffalo from the library last week! My son loved it. I liked how the illustrations make the gruffalo character somewhat scary, but not too scary. Can’t help but compare that character to the monsters in ‘Where The Wild Things Are’.

    • I’m glad you like The Gruffalo too, and if you haven’t read The Gruffalo’s Child, you’ll really enjoy it too. I think kids love to see a little mouse outsmart such a big and scary monster. I love the line “there’s no such thing as a gruffal- ooooh!” because I always tell my kids there’s no such thing as monsters, and yet…

  5. I heard that interview on NPR too. Fascinating topic. I’ll be interested to read what you think.

    I read The Book Thief for my book club. Most people loved it, but I didn’t. There were wonderful elements, but I found it a little gimmicky and incessantly bleak. (But I definitely think I’m in the minority in not thinking it’s terrific.)

    • So far, I’m drowning in a lot of details with Alone Together so I’ve started to scheme through because there’s still plenty of good stuff in there.

      As for The Book Thief, we’ll see. I’ve read several “wonderful” books on WWII, in the sense they really touched me, so I’m not sure where this one will take me.

  6. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

