WordPress weekly photo challenge: Silhouette

I like this week’s photo challenge theme. Not because of the theme itself but because of the word. Silhouette, from the French silhouette. It’s actually one French word English people pronounce almost correctly. Silhouette rhymes with pirouette, and cacahouete. That’s French for peanut (not potty talk) and there’s even a French children’s song called “Pirouette, cacahouete”, where these two words have no reason to be there except that they rhyme and are funny to say.

I’m very good at taking pictures of silhouettes, especially when it comes to trees. I have a knack for trying to photograph trees when the sun is at its highest in the sky and I happen to stand on the wrong side, i.e. facing it. This is exactly how to photograph the silhouette on a tree. On purpose, of course.  ;-)

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: silhouette of a tree

WordPress weekly photo challenge: silhouette of a tree

And then there’s this picture I took of my kids a few weeks ago. They noticed the sun was starting to go down earlier and the backyard was getting pretty dark after dinner. So they pulled out their safety vests, put them on and stood against the fence for me to take a picture of them. I labeled them “the biggest specimens of fireflies in the world”. You can barely see their silhouettes around the safety vests.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: silhouette of children

WordPress weekly photo challenge: silhouette of children

Now, my simple advice to you if you don’t want to take pictures of silhouettes is this. Either stay with the sun in your back when you snap that picture, or use the flash. Simple enough, but I never do it!

9 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Silhouette

  1. I love tree silhouettes. I think that is the best way to see the majesty of their ‘system.’ The fireflies are so cute! You’d probably like to save them in a bottle so they can’t grow up.

    • You’re right, silhouettes are a good way to realize how big some trees are, without getting distracted by too many details. As for putting the fireflies in a jar, you’re giving me some ideas, especially if the jar is soundproof. ;-)

  2. Love the green vests. Are your boys available to direct traffic at my kid’s school? Under supervision, of course. ;)

    • The vests actually are neon yellow. I bought them last winter at IKEA because our neighborhood is not well lit at night and it always worries me how cars don’t stop to let pedestrians cross, even on crosswalks. Since it gets dark at 5pm in the winter, we still get to go out and be safe, or at least try. Drivers are completely nuts here, by the way.

  3. Good pics, Milka. Love the kids brilliant life-saving vests.

    • Thanks, Nancy! I wish the safety vests were enough but when drivers literally push you off the road even when you cross the road and you have the right of way, I wonder. I teach my kids to never, ever trust drivers out there and make eye contact before crossing. Even at the school, I see drivers ignore the stop signs from the crossing guards. Scary.

  4. Love your pics for the challenge. Your two fireflies are really sweet. :) I’m famed for doing just what you do when taking photos. Sometimes I have surprisingly good results. :lol:

Leave a Reply

