Kids say the darndest things – Fall 2012 edition

I’m not doing a WWW Wednesdays update today because I’m still reading Dandelion Wine (it’s really good, by the way). Instead I thought I’d do an update of “Kids say the darndest things” since it’s been a while. I don’t always capture the outrageous things my kids can say, but I’m glad when I do.

To make things easier, Son #1 is my 6-year old, Son #2 is my 4-year old.

Mixed signals
Son #2 kept hugging me while sucking his thumb one recent morning in my car, while we were waiting for his school to start.
Me: Why are you hugging me? Are you tired?
Son #2:  No. It’s because I love you.
Oh, I’ll take that!

Rock the vote
Son #1: When the election comes, I’m voting for Barack Obama.
Me: Why is he your choice?
Son #1: Because he’s already president and he deserves to stay president.
Me: Some presidents do well and deserve to be re-elected, and some don’t. What about Romney?
Son #1: I don’t think Mr. Romney would make a good president.
Out of the mouth of babes…

The coolest job
Son #2: When I grow up, I want to be a cockroach exterminator.
Me: Why is that?
Son #2: Because I get to wear a gas mask.
Beats sitting at a desk the whole day, for sure.

Books are a danger to your wallet
I recently bought a Lego Star Wars dictionary at the school book fair. The boys’ latest conversation while flipping the pages went like this:
Son #1 (pointing): I want this one.
Son #2 (pointing): And I want this one.
Son #1: And I want this AT-AT.
Son #2: Me too!
Son #1: Then we should get two. One for you, and one for me. And one for Mama so she has her own AT-AT and doesn’t play with ours.
How does he know I always wanted one?

Only in America
One day, I was talking with the boys about Big 5, a sporting goods store not far from our house. I wanted to buy some new swim goggles there for Son #2.
Son #1: They sell guns there, you know. And bowling balls.
That one left me speechless.

The next two cartoons are for all moms out there, who share the joys and pains of motherhood with me. Enjoy!

Mom, can you carry me?

Mom, can you carry me?

Yeah, it’s kind of like that.

Mom feeling exhausted

Mom feeling exhausted

Just looking at this cartoon makes me want to take a nap…

24 responses to “Kids say the darndest things – Fall 2012 edition

  1. You have some smart boys there! Love the political insight at such a young age. ;)

    I remember back when John Kerry and John Edwards were running mates, a democratic representative came to our door soliciting some material. When he left, my youngest, who was 4 at the time, asked, “Mommy, was that Kerry Edwards?” In his mind Kerry/Edwards was one person, and he was apparently just on our doorstep. :)

    • Haha, what a funny story! My son must be getting his political influence from his dad because I haven’t talked much about the upcoming election with him, mostly because of my lack of enthusiasm for the candidates this time around. I’ve been patiently waiting for the parts of the Obamacare when I can purchase my own health insurance at an “affordable” price (especially when I get divorced), but when it takes another 2 years to get that point and it may all go away with the other guy, I’m not sold on the advantages of the new law. These past four years have been some of the hardest of my adult life for sure.

  2. Thanks for eavesdropping on your kids for us! :D Loved “they have guns and bowling balls.” Great cartoons too.

  3. I loved that they wanted you to get your own At-At. They know what you really do at night when they go to bed–pull out their Legos and have fun.

  4. Love these conversations – not so far off from what my boys say. Like nrhatch, the line about guns and bowling balls cracked me up. Both can be deadly weapons, you know – especially in the hands of 4 and 6 yo boys! ;)

  5. Thanks so much for sharing these gems, Milka! Your boys are pretty smart…no surprise with you for their mother.:) Loved the cartoons!
    And, as Scarlett O’Hara said, “Tomorrow is another day.” Let’s hope the economy and the health care issues improve…if a mom was running the country, maybe stuff would get done right!! :)

    • Well, you would be proud of what my four-year old said to me yesterday… I’ll save for the next update because it is absolutely priceless but if it had been on TV or radio, he would have been bleeped. But it was very, very funny.

      Amen on having a mom running the country! That would be such a nice breath of fresh air. Well, I think if we can elect a black president, a woman president can’t be that far, or can she? I just wish the people in Washington actually got things done that help the American people in general and not just the special interests. I can’t wait to debate these subjects with my kids when they get older. That will make for some interesting dinner conversations!

  6. Pingback: October: National Bullying Prevention Month and More! « Positive Parental Participation

Leave a Reply

