WWW Wednesdays – September 19, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

Sorry, I’m a day late for this weekly update but sometimes life gets in the way of books. I hate it when that happens.  ;-)

My bookshelf

Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury– What I’m currently reading
Today I’ll (finally) start  Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury.

– What I recently finished reading
The Accidental Bestseller by Wendy Wax. It’s unfortunate the first 100 pages of this book go very slow because the story overall is quite interesting and the pace picks up afterwards. I liked the idea of mingling four different writers’ lives, all of whom include pretty big secrets, to entice me to keep reading. I also enjoyed learning more about the publishing industry and what it takes to get a book written and out on the store shelves. The famous writers’ quotes on writing that start each chapter were a very nice touch too.
 
– What I think I’ll read next
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. This book has been on my to-read list for quite a while, so I’m glad I finally ordered and received it from the library.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Tumford the Terrible by Nancy TillmanWhat they’re currently reading
Tumford The Terrible by Nancy Tillman. If you’re a Nancy Tillman fan, plug your ears. I don’t think she’s a great artist and her illustrations look pretty cheesy. I also don’t think she’s a great writer and could use a better editor. But… my kids love this story and it’s easy to understand why. Tumford makes mistakes on a regular basis but never apologizes, even though his owners insist he must. It’s a good lesson for kids who wonder why adults are so insistant on requesting apologies. And Tumford sure makes a lot of funny looking faces.
– I love the Nana Quimby books, Cat Up A Tree and Mouse In The House by John and Ann Hassett. In Cat Up A Tree, Nana Quimby calls the fire department to help get one cat down from the tree facing her house, but they won’t help unless “the cat is playing with matches.” As new cats join the first one, Nana’s calls for help stay unanswered. So when the town gets overrun by mice, do you think Nana Quimby will help? In Mouse In The House, Nana Quimby gets a cat to get rid of the mouse, then a dog to get rid of the cat, etc. I really like the unexpected ending of this book.

Back to school for rotten ralph y Jack BantosWhat they recently finished reading
We’re big fans of the Rotten Ralph books by Jack Bantos at our house. Ralph’s attitude and behavior can be quite rotten, but his friend Sarah always ends up showing him a better way. Great, fun lessons about life for all kids.
Practice Makes Perfect for Rotten Ralph – Ralph gets tired of not winning any prizes at the carnival so he resorts to cheating, but his friend Sarah will help him find his way back to honesty.  
Back To School for Rotten Ralph. Poor Ralph, Sarah’s going back to school and he doesn’t want her to make new friends. Poor Sarah, Ralph shows up at her school and sabotages every one of her attempts to make new friends…
Rotten Ralph’s Trick Or Treat. Ralph and Sarah go to a Halloween party dressed at each other, which makes for a very rotten Sarah…

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

26 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – September 19, 2012

  1. I’m reading a delightful book called “Lunch in Paris.” Light, funny, an expat’s view of Paris, and lots of recipes!

    • When you’re done, I want to know if I should read it too. Are these French recipes or American recipes? I keep reading books with recipes inside, how weird!

      • I’m almost finished and most certainly recommend “Lunch in Paris.” She has a delightful writing style and I often chuckle out loud. The recipes are French, simple, lots of fresh ingredients, and sound wonderful. She manages to make the recipe directions fun to read. I just remembered! You are from France!

        I too am drawn to book with food as a central theme . . . like “School of Essential Ingredients” and “Tender to the Bone” (loved both). No surprise that food and cooking play a leading role in my WIP.

      • Thanks, I’ll put it on my to-read list.

  2. I’ve had “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” on my list for a long time–just haven’t gotten to it (so what else is new?) :)

    And of course, you know I’m still reading “Bringing Up Bebe.” I only have time for a few pages at night, but I really like it. I only have about 65 pages left, so that’s good. Also, I’m almost finished a book called “One Night in Bridgeport” by Mark Paxson, a fellow blogger. It’s about a guy who has a one-night stand only to later be accused of rape. It’s a good read.

  3. Reading Bradbury when I was a kid got me interested in so many other writers, I’ll be interested in seeing what you think of it.

  4. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot is a well told tale . . . especially in the beginning.

    The end of the book would have benefitted from a bit more editing.

    • Thanks for the warning. It looks like a fascinating story and I’m glad someone took the time to tell it.

    • I agree with nrhatch’s assessment of Henrietta Lacks. I thought it was absolutely riveting in the beginning. Though the pace slows in the last third of the book, I still think Skloot does a great job handling many different themes. I know I learned a lot about race and the evolution of our health care system (not to mention some things I didn’t retain from high school biology!).

  5. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

