Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban

Paris is the very first thought that came to my mind when I found out the weekly WordPress photo challenge was “urban”. Not San Diego, where I’ve lived for the past 15 years. I rarely go to downtown San Diego and honestly, I don’t think I’m missing much. It pales in comparison to any other big American city.

As a European city, Paris is vibrant with history and culture. There are thousands of opportunities for great photos. Digging up through my old photo albums, I found a few pictures I took with my old film camera that reflect what “urban” means to me in my hometown. I apologize for the poor picture quality. The photos are old and I’m taking photos of photos…

Urban means the traffic on the Champs Elysees leading to the Arc de Triomphe. I love the Christmas lights on the trees. They’re look like they’re on fire.

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban - Paris, Champs Elysees

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban – Paris, Champs Elysees

Urban means the “bateaux mouches” on the Seine River, a relaxing way to catch great sights of Paris, including the Eiffel Tower.

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban - Paris bateaux mouches

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban – Paris bateaux mouches

And to me, nothing says more urban than the old man feeding the pigeons and the sparrows on the steps of Montmartre. It always reminds me of the old lady doing the same thing in Mary Poppins. What do you think about when you hear urban?

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban - old man feeding the pigeons in Paris

Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban – old man feeding the pigeons in Paris

9 responses to “Weekly WordPress photo challenge: Urban

  1. Oh, you took me back. One of my favorite views in Paris is that of your top photo–the Champs-Elysées with the Arc de Triomphe in the background. And I used to love going to Montmartre. So much to see there with all of the artists, and of course, the beautiful Sacré Coeur. Ah, j’adore Paris.

  2. Northern Narratives

    Beautiful Paris :)

  3. I’ve been to Paris once . . . loved Montmartre, the Eiffel Tower (lit up at night), Sacre Coeur, Notre Dame, the sidewalk cafes and bakeries, the CHEESE!

  4. Love that third shot. ;-)

Leave a Reply

