WWW Wednesdays – August 22, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

You may have noticed I skipped this week’s WordPress photo challenge. The theme was “merge” and I was very uninspired. I’ve also been dealing with some growing health concerns for the past few weeks with no diagnostic yet. I’ve realized that worry can really put a damper on creativity. Even reading doesn’t bring as much relief as I’d like it to.  :-(

My bookshelf

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins– What I’m currently reading
Tonight I’ll be starting Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, the last book of The Hunger Games series. I can’t wait to see how it all wraps up.

– What I recently finished reading
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, the sequel to The Hunger Games. Wow, I never saw what happened in the last 30 pages of this book coming. I’m so glad I’m finally reading this series.
 
– What I think I’ll read next
Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine. Eventually I’ll get to it, right?
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Mrs Watson wants your teeth by Allison Mc GheeWhat they’re currently reading
Mrs. Watson Wants Your Teeth by Alison McGhee. On her first day of school a first grader becomes scared after a second grader tells her that her teacher is a 300-year-old alien with a purple tongue who steals baby teeth from her students. And our first grader has a wobbly tooth, oh no!

–  Simply Delicious! by Margaret Mahy. A father tries to take a double-dip-chocolate-chip-and-cherry ice cream cone home to his son, but a whole bunch of jungle animals chase his bike to get to the ice cream first. This is a very funny book, in which you get to say “double-dip-chocolate-chip-and-cherry ice cream cone” about a dozen times. Go ahead, try it.

Fluffy plants a jelly bean by Kate McMullanWhat they recently finished reading
I just discovered the Fluffy book series by Kate McMullan and the kids love the stories. Fluffy is the classroom guinea pig and he’s got a big imagination (and a big ego). Our favorite books so far are:
Fluffy Plants a Jelly Bean: you’d think nothing will grow when you plant a jelly bean, but leave it to Fluffy to actually manage to sprout something out of the ground.
Fluffy Meets the Dinosaurs: Fluffy sneaks in at the Natural History Museum with his class. When he finds out his cousins are rats and mice and his ancestors were skiddish wild cavies, he decides to rewrite history and make the T-Rex his legitimate ancestor. My four-year old asked me to read this book every night for several nights in a row – a big hit.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

18 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – August 22, 2012

  1. Sorry to hear about the health issues. I hope a diagnosis is found for you soon as well as a means to combat it.

    I’m reading “A Discovery of Witches.” It’s good, but long, and I want to read a couple fellow bloggers’ books, so I’ve switched to Diane Henders “Never Say Spy.” It’s really quite good. Humorous and well-written. Then I have another fellow blogger’s book to read. After that, I’ll get back to the witches. :)

    • Thank you for your kind words. There’s nothing worse than not knowing, especially since this has been going on for a month and only getting worse.
      I hear you about wanting to take a break from a long book. I somehow manage to pick books that are usually under 500 pages so it makes it easier to read it from beginning to end without wanting to switch. I can tell you though that, if The Hunger Games had come as one single book, I would not have been able to put it down!

  2. I skipped this week’s WordPress photo challenge too ~ “merge” didn’t inspire me at all.

    Sorry about your health concerns. Hope you are soon on the road to recovery. In the meantime, try not to worry. Visualize the BEST case scenario instead of the WORST.

    • I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who felt uninspired by the photo theme. I can only think of roads/freeways when I hear the word merge. Boring…

      Trust me, I’m trying to visualize the best scenario but as the doctor is crossing off the “good” possibilities one by one, it doesn’t make things easier. It may be another couple of weeks until I can get a diagnostic and after being in limbo for almost a month already, it’s taking a toll on my spirit a little. Carpe diem.

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Oh you poor thing, it must be so hard to concentrate on anything. Hope its nothing serious and thanks for introducing Fluffy, he sounds great!

  4. Yuck! I hate when doctors can’t figure out what’s wrong with you and keep testing everything under the sun. I wish you luck that you get diagnosed correctly soon. I’m reading Gina Barlean’s book Recipes for Revenge right now. I really like it. The bad guys really get their due from the ladies they wrong in this book. It’s great.

    • Oh, that book sounds like exactly what I mean right now! ;-)
      My next test will be a biopsy, but they won’t authorize it until I have all the results for the tests I’ve done so far. The waiting is the worst.

      • Ugh. Yes, waiting is the pits. I hope it’s not too long for the results.

      • Hopefully I’ll know by tomorrow, but then I have to wait for the referral to go through, schedule an appointment with the surgeon, then schedule another appointment for the biopsy. It’s so slow to go through every step of the protocol…

Leave a Reply

