WWW Wednesdays – August 15, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins - The Hunger Games– What I’m currently reading
I know I said I’d read Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine next but my friend Mia was kind enough to let me borrow her Hunger Games books (I must have looked quite desperate). So I’m about to start Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, the sequel to The Hunger Games and I can’t wait to see what happens!

– What I recently finished reading
 A Teeny Bit of Trouble by Michael Lee West, the sequel to Gone With A Handsomer Man. This book is darker and not as funny as the first one but I still enjoyed reading it. When dealing with such a murder mystery, humor can only take it so far. Teeny, the main character, always manages to dig up trouble wherever she goes, and that makes for an entertaining story that keeps you turning the pages.
 
– What I think I’ll read next
Mocking Jay by Suzanne Collins, the last book of The Hunger Games series.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Bunnicula the vampire bunny by James HoweWhat they’re currently reading
Bunnicula: The Vampire Bunny by James Howe. This book is the shorter version of the original Bunnicula, allowing my independent reader to enjoy the story in one sitting. Chester the cat shares his suspicions about Bunnicula, the new family rabbit, with Howie the dog. He sets off to prove that Bunnicula is a vampire bunny because he sucks vegetables until they turn white. Spooky and hilarious! We read many of the Bunnicula books a while ago but they’re so good, they’re worth reading again.

Earthquack! by Margie Palatini. Similar to the Chicken Little story, this books tells of a small duck who panics when he feels the earth grumbling and rumbling under his webbed feet. He manages to scare all the barn animals until the group reaches a hungry weasel, who sees all the ingredients for a good dinner. This story has a happy ending, at least for the barn animals, and a couple of moles happen to be responsible for the earthquack. A cute story for little ones.

Hogwash by Karma WilsonWhat they recently finished reading
Hogwash by Karma Wilson. The farmer is on a mission to bathe all his farm animals, but when he gets to the pig sty, he faces a lot of resistance from the pigs who enjoyed their mud bath too much to get out and get clean.

– We enjoyed the adventures of Minerva Louise the hen, the funny books by Janet Morgan Stoeke, including Minerva Louise and the Red Truck and Minerva Louise on Halloween. Minerva Louise may not be too sharp but she sure is funny, trying to interpret things around her based on her own observations.

– What I think they’ll read next
I don’t know but I’m sure it will be good stuff. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

8 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – August 15, 2012

  1. I’m reading a Robin Cook novel called “Cure.” The story and science are good, which is why I tolerate the cliched and sometimes silly dialogue. But I was in the mood for a page-turner, and this one delivers. Next I’m going to read “A Discovery of Witches.” I’ve been putting it off as I’m not a big fan of books about witches and wizards, but it got such good reviews, I finally put it on hold at the library, and voila, it’s already arrived for me. And no, I haven’t started the Hunger Games series yet. :)

    • Is Robin Cook any good? I keep seeing her name and her books, but I don’t know if it’s a hype or well deserved.

      • Robin Cook is a man. His first medical thriller was years ago–called “Coma.” Very good. He’s a great story teller, but his writing can be a bit hokey at times. For example, his characters say things like, “What in tarnation?” Yeah, like we talk like that in real life. And he sometimes tells too much instead of shows. But then again, I am not one to criticize. He can run circles around me in the writing department, and obviously, his success as an author says all one needs to know on whether or not his books are good. I don’t read him as much as I used to, but I got this one for $5 from a discount table at the bookstore a long time ago and finally decided to read it.

      • Robin, like Batman’s boyfriend, I should have known, sorry (I have a male friend whose name is Robin too). I guess I’ll put Coma on my to-read list and see if I like it. Thanks for the recommendation!

      • Yes, if you’re going to read any of his, that’s the one to go with. Good movie version, too. But I’m with you–Robin is a bit of a girly name. :)

  2. I have just finished CF. Something about camping made me want to read THG trilogy again :)

Leave a Reply

