WWW Wednesdays – August 8, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

A teeny bit of trouble by Michael Lee West– What I’m currently reading
Tonight I’ll be starting A Teeny Bit of Trouble by Michael Lee West, the sequel to Gone With A Handsomer Man. I hope this book is as hilarious and entertaining as the first one. You can read my review of Gone with A Handsomer Man if you missed it the first time. I highly recommend the book if you need to laugh.

– What I recently finished reading
Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven! by Fannie Flagg. Ninety-year old Elner Shimfissle climbs up a ladder to pick up figs in her fig tree when she gets attacked by a swarm of wasps. She falls off the ladder and what happens next is full of twists and surprises, all the way to the end of the book. I enjoyed how Fannie Flagg developed the characters slowly, without giving it all away at once. And what characters they are! One of my favorite parts? When Sonny the cat manages to be twenty-five years old. You’ll have to read the book to get the joke.
 
– What I think I’ll read next
Probably Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury, since it’s now waiting for me at the library. It’s Bradbury’s semi-autobiographical recollection of a small-town summer in 1928, and is supposed to be very good.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Chester by Melanie Watt

What they’re currently reading
– We’ve read other books by Canadian picture book author Melanie Watt before but I recently stumbled upon her Chester the cat series and these three books are simply HILARIOUS. In each book, Chester tries to take over for Watt when it comes to telling the story because he thinks he’s much better at it than her. The fights between the character and the author, include weapons such as wry comments, pencils, markers and sticky notes, and are to die for. Even if you don’t have kids, you should read these books if you need a good laugh. The three Chester books come in this order: 
–  Chester by Melanie Watt (not by Chester, as the cover tries to tell you)
Chester’s Back
Chester’s Masterpiece

Ricky Ricotta's mighty robot by Dav PilkeyWhat they recently finished reading
My six-year old is a proud independent reader and he likes reading on his own for about an hour every night before bedtime. The challenge for me has been to find him some fun books to read that are challenging, but not too challenging so he can read them on his own. One series of books that seems to be very popular with boys his age is Dav Pilkey’s Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot books. They are full of funny space adventures without too much text on each page, fliporamas (so you can perform some of the action yourself) and there are even instructions on how to draw some of the characters at the end. So far my son has enjoyed reading these three books on his own so he’s asked me to order the rest of them from the library:
Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot Vs. The Jurassic Jackrabbits From Jupiter
Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot vs. the Uranium Unicorns from Uranus
Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot Vs. the Mutant Mosquitoes from Mercury
If you know a boy who’s not very good at or barely interested in reading, I recommend the Ricky Ricotta series for a little motivation.

– What I think they’ll read next
I just ordered a whole bunch of new books from the library but I’m not sure what will be arriving first. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

21 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – August 8, 2012

  1. I wonder if that author Fannie Flagg is the same Fannie Flagg who used to be on TV and on various game shows (Hollywood Squares). Seems an uncommon name.

    I’m reading “A Warm Wind” by Erin French. I follow her blog. The book is really good, though the main character is a pretty unlikeable woman. But it’s well-written and thought-provoking.

    • Fannie Flagg is most famous for writing “Friend Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe”, but I’m unable to answer your question about Hollywood Squares, sorry.

      • I looked it up–it is the same woman. Another piece of useless knowledge now in my brain. :)

      • Interesting, I wonder why. She must like game shows a lot because I doubt she needs the extra money.

      • Well, her game show stint was years ago. The author thing’s probably her main gig now.

      • She wrote Fried Green Tomatoes in the mid 80s and the movie was made in the mid 90s so maybe that’s when she got into the TV game show circuit. I wonder if she was funny on those shows because she’s got quite a sense of humor as a writer. Definitely someone I’d have dinner with.

      • Hollywood Squares and The Match Game (I think that was what it was called) were back in the 70s. She was really funny on those shows (you know–the game shows where they mixed celebrities with contestants.) And now I’ve just dated myself. Must have been repeats I saw. ;)

      • I didn’t move to the US until 1993 and I remember watching Hollywood Squares, with what looked like current celebrities. Now I’m really going to have to check when she was on!

      • Thanks to you, I now know a lot more about Fannie Flagg! She was first an actress and was on TV shows in the late 60s to mid 70s. She wanted to be a writer but suffered from dyslexia and was worried her disability would be revealed when she submitted manuscripts (no spell check at the time, I guess). Fried Green Tomatoes was her second novel and she co-wrote the movie’s screenplay. One fun fact about her. She said if she’d known she’d be a writer someday, she would have picked a different pseudonym (picked for her acting days), because she didn’t like being stuck to it as a writer!

      • I love how you seek out to learn things. Think of what a better place this world would be if everyone did that! I liked the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” but had no idea she wrote the book behind it. And now you have educated me. :)

      • Haha, I think I’m passing on the curiosity habit to my kids, because at least once a day, you’ll hear someone say, “let’s google to find out”. You should read Fried Green Tomatoes if you haven’t, it’s very good. Someone suggested I also read Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man and I probably will, since it has some many good reviews.

  2. I loved how Sonny the cat was 25 years old. All the characters’ dialogue in that book cracked me up. They were just so funny. Elner reminded me of my grandma so much; I think that’s why I was so taken by the book.

  3. Sounds like you’re reading some light-hearted books, Milka. Me too. I’m in the middle of Julie and Julia by Julie Powell. Some of the things she’s cooking are AWFUL. ;)

    • You’re right, you ended up in Spam, so thanks for letting me know. What’s wrong with WordPress???

      Since I was reading some books about the Holocaust around Christmas, I think it doesn’t hurt to lighten up the reading themes sometimes, and I could use the laughs right now. I saw the Julie and Julia movie but didn’t read the movie. Meryl Streep was brilliant as Julia Child and I learned a lot about her life in that movie. I didn’t care so much about the Julie character though.

      • I’m not going to recommend the book . . . in this case, the movie was MUCH better. The book is twice as long as it needs to be to convey what needed to be conveyed.

      • I heard the book wasn’t good and dragging on. I’m not surprised it was turned into a movie behind the idea would be interesting but I’m surprised it got published as a book.

  4. Great list of books, Milka…and I LOVE the Chester cover…seeing that the cat crossed out the author’s name and wrote his own in let’s me know it will be a hilarious book. :
    And Hollywood Squares…oh yes, I will date myself also…LOVED that show and all of the celebrities who graced the squares…they were too funny!

    • You’re the second Hollywood Squares I meet in the blogosphere, how funny!

      The Chester books are absolutely hilarious, the next one better than the previous one. My kids love, love, love these books. I hope I can renew them at the library when they’re due. You could take a look for yourself and tell me what you think.

  5. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

