WWW Wednesdays – August 1, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Can't wait to get to heaven by Fannie Flagg

Can’t wait to get to heaven by Fannie Flagg

– What I’m currently reading
 Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven! by Fannie Flagg. Char at Joy in the Moments recently read this book and enjoyed it, so I thought I’d give it a try.

– What I recently finished reading
I read lots of books this past week, mostly because some of them were very short.
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Wow! Engaging, captivating, riveting, nail biting, page-turning, cruel, brutal, scary, sad, funny… This book has it all and I loved it. It’s nice to read a book with such a strong heroin character, even though she has moments of doubt here and then. I recommend this book to anyone age 13 and up because of the mature content (killing, cruelty, etc). I can’t wait to read the next books!
Ignore Everybody: and 39 Other Keys to Creativity by Hugh MacLeod. There’s nothing earth shattering in this book, but rather wisdom bits about what to do with your own creativity when you’re not sure which way to go, or you feel like you’re not going anywhere. Lots of sensible advice, including ignoring the advice given by most people, especially in they are not in the creative field, and taking money out of the equation in order not to cloud your creative focus. My favorite part? When the author had dinner with Tim Burton and Burton advised him never to ignore that creative itch, because it won’t go away until you deal with it (Tip #31: The hardest part of being creative is getting used to it). So true!
The Rights of the Reader by Daniel Pennac. This book is short and easy to read (I read it in a day) but every word is worth reading. Pennac observes how all young children love being read stories and enjoy reading on their own at first, until something goes wrong (sometimes) and children lose interest in reading. Pennac explains how parents and teachers can so easily suck the pleasure of reading out for children and gives simple advice on how to bring pleasure back. A great complement to The Book Whisperer, in which I found reference to this book. I love the 10 rights of the reader, as they make it clear reading should be about rights, not rules.
 
– What I think I’ll read next
I don’t have any more books from the library sitting on my bookshelf so I’ll see if something comes in before I’m done with my current book. Otherwise, I’ll pull something from my own bookshelf.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Wink the ninja who wanted to be noticed by J. C. PhillipsWhat they’re currently reading
Wink : The Ninja Who Wanted To be Noticed by J.C. Phillipps. While ninjas should be silent and use stealth, Wink, ninja in training, finds out his enthusiasm gets him in trouble. Will Wink find a way to express his excitement for life and his ninja skills at the same time?
The Pea Blossom by Amy Lowry Poole. Originally told by Hans Christian Andersen in Five Peas From One Pod, this new version of the story takes place in Beijing. The paintings on rice paper are a lovely touch.

Minnie and Moo save the earth by Denyz CazetWhat they recently finished reading
Minnie and Moo Save the Earth by Denys Cazet. We love the adventures of Minnie and Moo and this one is no exception. While relaxing in the farmer’s hot tub and snacking on crackers and “fromage de vache” (I’m not kidding you), the two cow friends manage to thwart an alien invasion and save the planet. Absolutely hilarious!
Alligator Boy by Cynthia Rylant. A boy puts on an alligator costume and starts living his life aso an alligator boy. The vet tells mom it’s OK as long as the boy continues going to school, where being a gator helps scaring bullies away.

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m not sure. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

5 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – August 1, 2012

  1. Ooo, I want to read that Fannie Flagg book! :)

  2. LOVE Fannie Flag. “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe” and “Daisy Fae and the Miracle Man” are two favorites.

  3. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

