WWW Wednesdays – July 25, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

The hunger games by Suzanne Collins

The hunger games by Suzanne Collins

– What I’m currently reading
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Oh my gosh, I can’t stop turning the pages. This is the worst book to read before going to bed!

– What I recently finished reading
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. This is a very interesting book entirely dedicated to introverts so introverts and extraverts alike can understand them better. I like the real life examples and strategies to help introverts at home, at school and at work to be themselves and develop their full potential. The U.S. has put a lot of emphasis on extraverts in the past few decades, often picturing introverts as the “anti-social” individuals rather than the thinkers they really are. This is a sad trend, especially when you realize how little independent  thinking and creativity is going on in schools and in the corporate world today. My favorite part in the book? The fact that introverts don’t like small talk. Haha, this is so true!
 
– What I think I’ll read next
I wish I’d known how excellent and addictive The Hunger Games would be so I’d ordered the next two books from the library before I even received the first one. Now, I’m left without the sequels after I finish it, so I’ll grab a book that’s been waiting for me for a few weeks on my bookshelf: Ignore Everybody: and 39 Other Keys to Creativity by Hugh MacLeod.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Cork & Fuzz by Dori ChaconasWhat they’re currently reading
Cork & Fuzz by Dori Chaconas. Fuzz the possum and Cork the muskrat become best friends despite their many differences, including their habitat, eating habits and everyday activities. This is actually a whole series of books and my kids like them all. The stories and illustrations are cute and very engaging. Other books in this series we’ve been reading and we like are:
Cork & Fuzz – The Swimming Lesson (perfect for my kids learning to swim)
Cork & Fuzz – The Baby Sitters
Cork & Fuzz – Short & Tall (very, very funny)

The top job by Elizabeth Cody KimmelWhat they recently finished reading
The Top Job by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel. On Career Day, a young girl tells her class about her father’s exciting job as light bulb changer at the top of the Empire State Building. Believe it or not, it’s a real job and it’s quite a challenge to get all the way up there!
How To Make An Apple Pie And See The World by Marjorie Priceman. Since the market is closed, a girl travels around the world to gather the ingredients for making an apple pie. A chicken for the egg in France, a cow for the butter in England, a few more stops, and all the way back to Vermont for the apples. Who knew making an apple pie could be such an adventure?

– What I think they’ll read next
I’m not sure. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

10 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – July 25, 2012

  1. I’m not really reading anything at the moment as I’ve been tied up by my edits. But you know I’ve read “Quiet” and loved it. I just wish I could’ve read something like that years ago. Would have really helped. So true about the small talk–not only don’t I enjoy it, but I’m terrible at it, though I’ve improved over the years.

    I never read “The Hunger Games” as I don’t usually read YA novels. But my kids ate it up, and I liked the movie, once I could get past the premise. :)

    • Although The Hunger Games features mostly teenagers, the content is very grown up and hard to deal with. Honestly Margaret Atwood could have written that story. It’s very well written and full of twists. I think you’d really enjoy it, especially since I understand the books are better than the movies (as usual).

  2. It’s unputdownable! Read the sequels, too.

  3. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

