WWW Wednesdays – July 11, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Stay Close by Harlan Coben

– What I’m currently reading
I finished Dolores Clairborne last night so tonight I’ll be starting the brand new Harlan Coben, Stay Close. I’ve read a couple of his books before (my favorite was Tell No One) and I have to read this one for my July book club. I’m not sure I need another book that keeps me up at night at this point (see below).

 – What I recently finished reading
Dolores Clairborne by Stephen King. King really knows how to make his readers turn page after page, without being able to put the book down. This book is written as a long monologue by Dolores Clairborne, without a single break (no chapters, no spaced paragraphs). I lost a few hours of sleep reading this book because I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next. It all wraps up very nicely and you can’t help but root for Dolores Clairborne. What a character! 
 
– What I think I’ll read next
Ignore Everybody: and 39 Other Keys to Creativity by Hugh MacLeod. Steph at Smile, Kiddo recommended I read it so I took on her advice and finally got it from the library. I also just found out I’ve got a whole bunch of books that arrived at the library and I can’t wait to go get them!
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Mars needs moms by Berkeley BreathedWhat they’re currently reading
Mars needs moms! by Berkeley Breathed. We LOVE this book! A disgruntled boy doesn’t see what his mom is good for, except feeding him broccoli and making him do chores. When Martians kidnap her and take her back to their planet, he realizes how much he loves her and tries to get her back. But in the end, his mom is the one sacrificing herself to save his life. My kids felt a little anxious when the mom took off her helmet to put it on her son’s head and she ran out of air, but I think it made them realize how far a mom will go for her child.
The Barking Mouse by Antonio Sacre. A Spanish-speaking mouse family enjoys their picnic but when a hungry cat shows up, they can’t figure out how to chase him away. Mother mouse saves the day by demonstrating her ability to speak another language (BARK!). This is a great lesson about the usefulness of speaking several languages and I even got to practice some Spanish while reading this Cuban folkore inspired story.
Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. Little Pea hates eating the main course for dinner, which happens to be candy every day. But his parents won’t let him have his spinach dessert until he cleans his plate. Hilarious!

The boy who lived with sealsWhat they recently finished reading
–  The Boy Who Lived With the Seals by Rafe Martin. This Native American story is so well told that my five-year old asked me if it was a strue story. A boy gets lots on his way back to the tribe and disappears. A year later his parents find him swimming with seals and try to return him to the tribe but his behavior is quite unusual and re-adaptation proves to be difficult.
Mr Putter & Tabby Take the Train by Cynthia Rylant. Mr Putter and Mrs Teaberry try to take Tabby and Zeke on a train ride, but when they’re told no pets are allowed on the train, they find creative ways to get around the rule.
Mr Putter & Tabby Feed the Fish by Cynthia Rylant. Mr Putter decides to adopt a few goldfish but Tabby and her twitching tail can’t handle the new stimulation. Poor Tabby can’t stop batting the fishbowl. Bat. Bat. Bat. oh, what to do with the fish? I love Tabby’s fish eyes! No matter how many times we read the Mr Putter & Tabby books, we can’t get tired of them.

– What I think they’ll read next
I have no idea! What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

6 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – July 11, 2012

  1. You read so fast! Dolores Claiborn sounded intriguing. I’ve only read the Green Mile by King, so probably should read more. I just got Can’t Wait to get to Heaven by Fannie Flagg for book group. I don’t know if it will be good yet; I’m only 2 chapters in. I’ve been hankering to read Harry Potter series again. I love that and it’s been a while. I’ve probably forgotten everything again and could enjoy them even more than the first time.

    • I LOVED The Green Mile, it’s still one of my favorite King books. Misery was quite a read too, even better than the movie, which was excellent already. It’s funny how Kathy Bates was cast as the wicked witch in Misery, as well as Dolores Clairborne, two very different characters.
      You’ll have to tell me how that Fannie Flagg book is. I only read her Fried Green Tomatoes and I really enjoyed it but I’m weary her other books are just as great, so I’ll take your recommendation!

  2. People may either like Stephen King’s work or not, but there is no denying that man can tell a good tale. Although I haven’t read anything by him since “The Dome,” which wasn’t my favorite, I still think he’s one of the greatest storytellers of all time. There may be novels by other authors I like better, but none can draw me in quicker to a story and keep me there longer than Stephen King.

    I’m currently reading Char’s book! I’m learning quite a bit about the Mormon faith and what they do during their missionary time. I’ve never read anything on that subject before.

  3. I’ve seen the DC movie (and enjoyed it), but I don’t think I’ve read the book. One to try.

Leave a Reply

