WordPress weekly photo challenge: Movement

I spent the last few days of June and the first few days of July on vacation with my boys in the beautiful mountains of Idyllwild, California, a couple of hours northeast of San Diego. We used to have beautiful wooded mountains only 30 minutes away from our house, but they all burned down in the San Diego wildfires of 2003, and again in the wildfires of 2008.

Don’t let people fool you when you hear nature grows back from fires. It does, but it takes a ridiculously long time. It takes about five years for bushes to grow back, such as the California Sage Brush, and 20 to 30 years for most trees to recover. I can be the patient kind but 20 years to see some real trees is way too long for me. To be honest, the lack of abundant green is what I miss the most by  living in San Diego.

The closest large wooded area full of fragrant pines is around the small town of Idyllwild. There is a lot of nature to enjoy and some cute small shops to browse. I’m working on sorting through the hundreds of photos I took there and I’ll highlight our vacation in an upcoming post. In the meantime, I wanted to use one of the photos I took there for this week’s wordpress photo challenge about movement.

Movement is actually something I dislike when taking pictures. I try to take pictures of creatures that move (e.g. wild animals, my kids) but their constant, abrupt movements make taking photographs quite challenging, and usually blurry or out of focus. I took the picture below on the morning of the Fourth of July with my cell phone camera and it somehow turned out OK. Idyllwild  organizes a parade to celebrate the holiday, something my kids have never attended before. The parade happened to take place on the street right in front of our cottage, so we had a great view.

The boys were a little uneasy about watching the parade (they thought it’d be boring) until they realized people were throwing candy! After that, I couldn’t get them off the street and they had a great time. Here they are, arm locking each other while running, to see who will reach the candy first.

Safety note: although it looks like they were running right into the street, they didn’t get in the parade’s path. That would have ruined the candy fun.

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: movement - Idyllwild Fourth of July parade

WordPress weekly photo challenge: movement – Idyllwild Fourth of July parade

7 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Movement

  1. What a great photo! Treasure those linked-arm moments; they’ll disappear when they’re teens. :)

    I’m glad to hear some parades still throw candy. The ones in our area don’t, and it really takes the fun out of it for kids, even the big kids. ;)

    I look forward to seeing some of your vacation photos.

    • The linked-arm moment was rather an arm-locked moment. I can’t believe how much they argued about getting to the candy first!
      We have a few parades in our area but I’ve never taken the kids because you always have to park miles away and come hours early to get a good spot. This was perfect for them, in size and location.

      It’s taking me a very long time to go through the vacation photos, but I swear, I’ll get to write the post eventually.

  2. Kids after my own heart. I’d be running for candy too.

Leave a Reply

