101 in 1001 update: Put a list of my 20 favorite quotes together

I know I’m overdue for a 101 in 1001 update (here’s my outdated complete list of 101 tasks in 1001 days) but I thought I’d spend a little time highlighting a few of my completed tasks as I move along through the list. I’m also thinking of changing a few tasks but I need to put more thought into it first.

Here’s one item I’m happy to report as completed:

49) Put a list of my 20 favorite quotes together

I’m pretty sure my current list has more than 20 quotes and I know I’ll add to it down the road, but I’m really happy with what I’ve gathered so far. I decided to sort them by themes, to refer to the quotes easily when I need some inspiration or a quick picker-upper. I just discovered Daniel Pennac’s The Right of a Reader list while reading The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child by Donalyn Miller and I simply love it.

If you have a favorite quote you think I should add to my personal list, please include it in the comments below.

MY FAVORITE QUOTES

Personal Identity
“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” ~ Dr. Seuss

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” ~ Albus Dumbledore / J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets)

Personal Growth
“Throw off the bowlines, sail away from safe harbors.  Catch the tradewinds in your sails.  Explore. Dream.  Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

“The greatest danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.” ~ Michelangelo

Life Experiences
“Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.” ~ Forrest Gump

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” ~ John Lennon

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see”. ~ Henry David Thoreau

“Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.” ~ Barry LePatner

Teaching
“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.” — Albert Einstein

Creativity
“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” ~ Albert Einstein

Giving
“It is every man’s obligation to put back into the world at least the equivalent of what he takes out of it.” ~ Albert Einstein

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” ~ Maya Angelou

Perseverance
“Do or do not. There is no try.” ~ Yoda

“Most of the shadows of this life are caused by our standing in our own sunshine.”  ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” ~ Nelson Mandela

“The strong survive, but the courageous triumph.” ~ Niten / Michael Scott (The Warlock)

 Gratitude & Joy
“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy. They are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” ~ Marcel Proust

“The human race has one really effective weapon, and that is laughter.” ~ Mark Twain

Reading & Writing
“The man who does not read has no advantage over the man who cannot read.” ~ Mark Twain

“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.” ~ Anna Quindlen (How Reading Changed My Life)

“Go for broke. Always try and do too much. Dispense with safety nets. Take a deep breath before you begin talking. Aim for the stars. Keep grinning. Be bloody-minded. Argue with the world. And never forget that writing is as close as we get to keeping a hold on the thousand and one things–childhood, certainties, cities, doubts, dreams, instants, phrases, parents, loves–that go on slipping, like sand, through our fingers.” ~ Salman Rushdie

“To acquire the habit of reading is to construct for yourself a refuge from almost all the miseries of life.” ~ W. Somerset Maugham

“The difference between the almost right word & the right word is really a large matter–it’s the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning.” ~ Mark Twain

The Rights of the Reader ~ Daniel Pennac
1. The right to not read
2. The right to skip pages
3. The right to not finish
4. The right to reread
5. The right to read anything
6. The right to escapism
7. The right to read anywhere
8. The right to browse
9. The right to read out loud
10. The right to not defend your tastes

 Belief
“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” ~ Roald Dahl (The Minpins)

Procrastination
“Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.” ~ Mark Twain

“Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday.” ~ Don Marquis

15 responses to “101 in 1001 update: Put a list of my 20 favorite quotes together

  1. Great quotes. I had to laugh at the Yoda one, because my husband just said that to me the other night while we were out walking. I said, “Yoda, right?” kind of kidding. But then when he confirmed my guess, I laughed. Good to see my husband is not the only one who quotes the little guy.

    I really liked the Maya Angelou one. It’s so very, very true.

    • I use the Yoda quote with my kids all the time. And I had it on my mind all the time when I worked in the corporate world. “I’ll try” is one phrase that should be banned from there, because people really mean they won’t do it. Just like most times “I can’t” really is “I don’t want to”. A little self-honesty goes a long way!

  2. I love the Harry Potter and Forest Gump quotes. All were great, but those two are my favorites.

    • Thanks, I really like them too. Forest Gump’s quote is very simple, but if you understand that’s how life works, you’re much more prepared to face the bad and enjoy the good. As for Harry Potter’s quote, I admire JK Rowling for trying to make kids understand their actions define who they are.

  3. Milka…what an awesome list of quotes…and what a wonderful idea for a post…I used to have a regular post on Tuesdays that took a topic and gave some of my favorite quotes.
    You’ve got several of my all-time favorites here…the Maya Angelou, the Dr. Seuss and the Henry David Thoreau. And there were several that I’ve never heard before, but am happy to have them in my “quote arsenal” now. :)
    Have a wonderful week!

  4. What a nice resource and I am impressed you collected so many. My dad’s favorite, “Don’t sweat the small stuff, it’s all small stuff” – Richard Carlson

  5. I love your favourite quotes PM!!

  6. I love your list! I found some new ones among these to embrace! :) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

