WWW Wednesdays – June 27, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

Before I start this update, let me ask you this. Did you hear about this school principal who challenged his students to read 10,000 books in the school year? He lost his bet and had to dress as Lady Gaga and got to milk a cow. I know you won’t believe me until you see it!

My bookshelf

The sisterhood of the traveling pants by Ann Brashares– What I’m currently reading

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. After the obnoxious Fifty Shades of Grey, this is a much more enjoyable read.
 
– What I recently finished reading
The Enchantress by Michael Scott. This is the last book of the series and my very favorite. I love how Scott wraps up everything so nicely, where it all makes sense. Wrapping up the past with the present, ending a world to start a new one. And what happens to Josh is brilliant, I never saw it coming. I recommend this series not only to young adult readers but to anyone looking for a great adventure, full of magic, mythology, courage, revenge, evil, and lots of good. I can’t believe they haven’t made movies out of this series yet.
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Baby Brains by Simon JamesWhat they’re currently reading
Baby Brains, and Baby Brains and RoboMom by Simon James. In Baby Brains, Mr & Mrs Brain’s new baby happens to be very intelligent and gets to do a lot of things reserved for grown-ups. But a space walk far away from Earth reminds everyone that Baby Brains is still just a baby. In Baby Brains and RoboMom, Baby Brains invents RoboMom to do all the household chores and give his tired parents a rest. But RoboMom is overzealous and ends up overheating…
Dog Tales by Jennifer Rae. This book tells several fairy tales from a dog’s perspective, including “Cindersmelly,” “Jack Russell and the Beanstalk,” and “The Doberman’s New Clothes.” Of course, a dog’s book wouldn’t be complete without wisecracking cats commenting on the stories. Guess who has the last laugh.

Sneakers the seaside cat by Margaret Wise Brown

What they recently finished reading
The Cat in the Hat by Dr Seuss. Although we enjoy The Cat in the Hat’s DVDs and my kids have learned a few things watching them, I really can’t stand this book. The cat is so obnoxious, making a huge mess and waiting until the last minute to clean things up. You can see the poor kids are really sweating it! “Your mother won’t mind at all if I do.” Yeah, right.
Sneakers, the Seaside Cat by Margaret Wise Brown. In this book with very lively illustrations (Sneakers looks so real my kids wanted to kiss him), a little cat named Sneakers experiences the sights, sounds, and smells of an ocean beach, just like a young child would.

– What I think they’ll read next
I have no idea! What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

2 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 27, 2012

  1. “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” is one book I couldn’t finish. Not much of a fan of chick lit, am I. But I know it was hugely popular, so I suspect I am the odd woman out on that one. Of course, I’m used to that position. :)

    • Well, I like it so far, but maybe it’s because I find it so much more refreshing and truthful than Fifty Shades. Of course, I’m reading about teenage girls so the level of maturity is a little lower than mine (I feel old!) but it reminds me of being that age, going through similar experiences, and writing to my friends about what was happening during the summer. These sure are some precious years of our lives.

Leave a Reply

