WWW Wednesdays – June 6, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

A Dog's Journey by W. Bruce Cameron

A Dog’s Journey by W. Bruce Cameron

– What I’m currently reading

A Dog’s Journey by W. Bruce Cameron, the sequel to his bestseller A Dog’s Purpose, one of the BEST books I read last year. I read the first three chapters last night and I couldn’t put it down, but I figured I did enough crying for one night. I can’t wait to see what happens to Buddy in his new brand life!
 
– What I recently finished reading

Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him by Luis Carlos Montalvan. I really enjoyed reading this book, even though some parts were tough (the horrors of war) and others made me angry (the lack of strategy during the war, the VA’s poor treatment of PTSD and our soldiers’ health and minds overall, the discrimination against service dogs and the disabled, etc). Montalvan is a true soldier, courageous in the field and on the street. Even though he’s not part of the Army anymore, he continues to fight for his fellow veterans, their rights and their well-being. And Tuesday… Well, he’s Tuesday and he’s perfect, unaware of how much he’s done to save a lost veteran and give him traction again.  Everyone should read this book to understand the struggles our soldiers go through when they come back from combat wounded and confused.
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
The Enchantress by Michael Scott, the fifth and last (GASP!) installment of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. I really want to know how it all ends, but I really don’t want it to end!
 
My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading

The duckling gets a cookie by Mo Willems

The duckling gets a cookie by Mo Willems

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Mo Willems. Willems’ famous pigeon is very angry when the duckling gets a cookie just by asking politely. The ending is hilarious! The duckling kindly gives his cookie to Pigeon, but that’s because it has nuts and the duckling doesn’t like nuts!
Dinosaur Cove – Attack of the Tyrannosaurus Rex by Rex Stone. I’m not sure how I stumbled upon this book but my kids love it. What’s not to love about two boys who discover a secret entrance to a prehistoric world filled with dinosaurs at the back of a cave? This happens to be the first in the series so we’ll be reading more of them soon. The book is at the third-grade reading level but my kindergartner reads it with me out loud. An interesting topic is the key when it comes to reading!

What they recently finished reading
– We’re gadly revisiting the wonderful Mercy Watson books by the brilliant Kate DiCamillo. The illustrations are so perfect for the text, it makes reading time a delight! My favorite books so far have to be Mercy Watson Fights Crime and Mercy Watson – Something Wonky This Way Comes. Both feature Leroy Ninker, a small man who longs to be a cowboy but can’t help himself being a thief…
– I know I’ve mentioned these books before but we’re reading them again since  they’re so good and worth sharing. Regis Faller, a talented French comic strip author, entertains us with his Polo the dog books, where imagination and creativity flow, mostly wordless. My kids love to love at the books and narrate the story strip by strip. So far we’ve read The Adventures of Polo, Polo and The Dragon, Polo and Lily, and  Polo and the Runaway Book.

– What I think they’ll read next
We still have lots of unread library books and still more are coming in – not a dull moment. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

9 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – June 6, 2012

  1. Well, you know I’m reading Agatha Christie’s “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd,” and you were so right about it. Excellent read. Her characters are rich, and the story well-paced. Nothing extraneous to it–everything is tight and relevant. I don’t even mind that it was written decades ago. :)

    I’m also just about to start “The Rez” by David Treuer. I’m interested in Native American culture, and this book highlights the challenges faced by those living on reservations. It’s non-fiction. I like to read both a fiction and non-fiction book at the same time. Sometimes I’m more in the mood for one than the other.

    • I’m glad you like the book and I can’t wait to hear what you think about the ending. I’ll have to see how you like the other book, it sounds quite interesting. I do alternate fiction and non-fiction regularly but you already know I prefer to read one book at a time as I’m a more efficient reader that way. ;-)

  2. Love Mo Willems, he’s one of our favs.

  3. Nothing like diving into a good book . . . or series. :D

  4. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

