WWW Wednesdays – May 30, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Until Tuesday by Luis Carlos Montalvan– What I’m currently reading
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him by Luis Carlos Montalvan and  Bret Witter. I’m about a third into it and have learned how Tuesday was trained to be a service dog from Day 3 of his life. I’m now learning about Montalvan’s time in the Army and his service in Iraq. He sure doesn’t have many nice things to say about military generals and the politics behind this war in general. Quite an interesting, first-hand perspective. And yes, that’s the real Tuesday on the book’s front cover. Doesn’t he look like the coolest dog?
 
– What I recently finished reading

Mermaids in the Basement by Michael Lee West. After reading the hilarious and delightful Gone With a Handsomer Man, this book was a little disappointing. The main character is supposed to dig up some unknown information about her family’s past but by the end, nothing discovered was that earth-chattering. This is still an entertaining read, but not West’s best.
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
A Dog’s Journey by W. Bruce Cameron, the sequel to his bestseller A Dog’s Purpose. I loved the first book so much, I can’t wait to read this one!
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Wow! Ocean! by Robert NeubeckerWhat they’re currently reading
Wow! Ocean! by Robert Neubecker. The latest release in Neubecker’s Wow! series is EXCELLENT! This time Lizzy and her little sister go around the world’s oceans, where they meet lots of underwater sea creatures (all are labeled so you get to see different types of whales, turtles, seashells, etc). We love it and I think this is the best one in the series.
Secret Agent Splat! by Robert Scotton. Scotton’s newest Splat adventure features a search for disappearing wooden ducks. I love Rob Scotton’s sense of humor and my kids can’t get enough of this story.
Mr Putter & Tabby Spill the Beans by Cynthia Rylant. We’re re-reading the Mr Putter & Tabby books since they’re one of our favorite series. In this one, Mr. Putter and his cat Tabby attend a cooking class with Mrs. Teaberry and her dog Zeke  to learn 100 ways to cook beans. It doesn’t take long for the beans to spill! I love Rylant’s writing style and the hilarious illustrations always are a perfect match.

What they recently finished reading
That Pesky Rat by Lauren Child (famous for her Charlie & Lola books and TV series). A brown street rat longs to be someone’s pet and have his very own name, so he asks the pet shop owner to let him post a for-sale sign. Lucky for him, an old man with extremely poor eyesight is interested in buying this “cat” (it sure read like cat on the sign!).
Goldie and the Three Hares by Margie Palatini. As Goldilocks runs away from the three bears, she falls down a rabbit hole and hurts her foot. The family of hares tries to help her but Goldie happens to be quite a demanding, borderline obnoxious, guest they can’t wait to get rid of.
Spot It!  and Spot It Again! by Delphine Chedru. In both books created by a French illustrator, kids have to find the animals hidden in colorful patterns. Both my kids love these books, even though you’d think they’re too old for them. I think it’s because everything is very well hidden, small, and hard to find.

– What I think they’ll read next
We have so many books from the library to still read, I’m sure we’ve got lots of good reading ahead of us. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

10 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – May 30, 2012

  1. As always, you impress me with your well-rounded choices in books. I’m rather predictable myself. I just finished Bill Maher’s very funny and very in-your-face opinionated book. Was a quick read. I’m finishing a self-published thriller by Marla Madison called “She’s Not There.” It’s pretty good. Then I might move another of your recommendations up my queue and read that Agatha Christie book you recommended. I’ve not read her yet, and I prefer contemporary thrillers, but you’ve got my interest peaked. I have so many books I need to get to, but I think I’ll see if my library has this one. If not, I’ll put it on order. You are broadening my horizons!

    • I can’t believe you haven’t read any Agatha Christie books! She is THE master of mystery story telling and was quite a prolific writer in a world full of men writers. The Murder of Rodger Ackroyd has to be one of my favorite, followed by The Murder of the Orient Express, where I never guessed the ending. Her writing is very fluid and makes you flip the pages fast (a sign of good writing for me is to make it easier for the reader, not harder). I want to say you’ll pick up a thing or two about her style, which is timeless. Every other mystery writer has just copied her (in a nice way) since then.

      • Actually, I did read “Murder on the Orient Express” when I was younger now that I think about it. I just tend to read more contemporary stuff. And there was a whole lotta years I was so busy with work, I never read much of anything. :) It’s nice to get back into more these past few years.

      • I hear you about not finding the time to read because of work, it’s a pity to have to choose between the two. I try to read at least 15 minutes a day, just before going to sleep but I love it when I have more time than that for sure.

  2. I love the dog on that cover! Yes, the politics behind the war are insane. I read Lone Survivor about a Seal team sent into Afghanistan(?) and it made me mad to learn about the stupid ‘rules of engagement.’ Just let them fight the dang war or get them out of there. Sorry. I’ll stop my venting. I just finished Gina Barlean’s book Casting Stones. It was really good–tore my heart out a few times and made me want to cry, but it reached a satisfactory resolution and I’m okay now. Thanks for asking.

    • I want to guess Montalvan has better insight on Iraq than most US generals and definitely Congress and the president. He’s not shy about his disgust for giving billions of dollars to defense contractors and keep the war going. I haven’t read this far but I know he got discharged after writing an article for the NY Times. And he’s not too kind on how the government poorly takes care of its injured veterans. You can see not much has changed since the Vietnam war, sad to say.

  3. This post is going to the DOGS . . . which is a nice change from COWS. Moo . . . :lol:

    I love Agatha Christie too!!! Haven’t read anything of hers in ages ~ must find the time. Her “Death on the Nile” was the Final Jeopardy question yesterday . . . all 3 contestants got it wrong. They each guessed “Murder on the Orient Express.” So did I.

Leave a Reply

