WWW Wednesdays – May 23, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Mermaids in the basement by Michael Lee West– What I’m currently reading
I’m still reading Mermaids in the Basement by Michael Lee West. I’ve been busy working on several projects at night and I’ve had little time to read. The book’s font size is also a little small for me, which doesn’t help with the reading speed.
 
– What I recently finished reading

Nothing new since last week. :-(
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him by Luis Carlos Montalvan and  Bret Witter. With almost 600 five-star ratings on Amazon, I have a feeling this book is quite special. It tells the true story of a decorated U.S. soldier who came back from Iraq physically and emotionally injured, and how a golden retriever helped with his recovery. Tissues, please…
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Wild & Woolly by Mary Jessie ParkerWhat they’re currently reading
Wild & Woolly by Mary Jessie Parker. Wild, a bighorn sheep, and Wooly, a ranch sheep, decide to try each other’s lives for a day but find out they prefer their own after all. At the end of the story, I love asking my kids which sheep’s life they’d prefer to have and why. It gives me great insight on their thinking patterns and personal tastes.
–  Little Monkey Lost by Keith DuQuette. Little Monkey is bored and decides to find adventure in the jungle. There he meets nine different kinds of monkeys who teach him fun new things. The end of the book features many facts about the New World Monkeys pictured and my kids like sharing the names and facts of each monkey type.
The Birdwatchers by Simon James. “When I go birdwatching, things happen,” Grandad says. After hearing so many stories about birdwatching from her grandfather, Jess decides to join him one day. By the end of the day, she’s had the opportunity to seen plenty of birds, including a pair of dancing penguins! A very sweet story teaching respect about nature.

What they recently finished reading
Dinorella : A Prehistoric Fairy Tale by Pamela Duncan Edwards. What a wacky and funny story: imagine Cinderella but featuring dinosaurs. And I hope you don’t have a problem enunciating the letter D because this book is full of Ds! As in, “Dinorella is dying to go to the dance, but her dreadful stepsisters, Doris and Dora, declare she’s too dowdy and dull.” Fairy-Dactyl to the rescue!
I Dream of Trains by Angela Johnson. This is the poignant story of the son of a sharecropper who dreams of leaving Mississippi on a train with the legendary engineer Casey Jones and his black fireman Sim Webb. My kids are a little too young to grasp all the concepts in this book (slavery, cotton picker, the great migration, etc) but it was a great introduction. I also had no idea who Casey Jones was until then, but the last page of the book gives a lot of information about him and the themes in general, so this was a good lesson for all of us.

– What I think they’ll read next
I got so many books from the library this past week, you wouldn’t believe. I’m sure there’s some good stuff in there! What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

9 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – May 23, 2012

  1. I’m reading Bill Maher’s “The New New Rules: A Funny Look At How Everybody But Me Has Their Head Up Their Ass.” I’ve been laughing so hard that I can no longer read it in public. It’s definitely for the liberal-minded, but I think it’s a hoot. I’ve also just started “She’s Not There,” a self-published thriller by Marla Madison, an author I follow on Twitter. Is really good so far.

    I finished “Life of Pi.” Very thoughtful ending. Made my concrete mind work through some abstract concepts. What a workout for my brain! But was well worth finally pulling from my husband’s book shelf and reading it. Glad you pushed me in that direction. :)

    • Bill Maher can be so obnoxious on TV to get his point across, he turns me off, which is too bad because he’s got really good things to say. But for me, it’s all in the delivery. So are you saying his book is really funny without this side of it?

      You’re not telling much what you thought about the ending of Life of Pi. Were you shocked at the revelation that the animals may not have been animals after all? I just loved how Martel just tells you it’s up to you to interpret the story the way you see is. Brilliant, really.
      “That’s what fiction is about, isn’t it, the selective transforming of reality? The twisting of it to bring out its essence?”

      • I don’t watch Bill Maher on TV for the same reason, but his book is really funny. But you have to be a fan of sarcasm and snark to enjoy it. :)

        To be honest, I didn’t like discovering that the animals may have actually been humans in the “Life of Pi.” I’m cynical, so as soon as I read that, I assumed that was the case as it made more sense. It was much harder for me to make the leap of faith and say the animal story was true after reading that. It would have been nice to finish the book thinking the animals were real and life really could happen that way. But if there’s a more realistic explanation, the realist in me will always land there, whether I want to or not.

      • Ah, it’s too bad! To me that was the best part of it, making me wonder about the reality of everything I had just read. Which one was true? And did it really matter what the truth was, or was it OK to just pick what you wanted to believe? I’m not a religious person and I enjoyed his discussions on religion a lot. The leap of faith was quite a novelty in a book for me, and the same went when I watch every single episode of Lost. :-)

      • I know, but I guess it just made me sad. I wanted to believe in the animals, but when faced with something more realistic, my mind went there. Maybe I should have read the ending on a sunshiny beach instead of in my dank basement. Perhaps I would have been more glass half-full then. :)

      • I just think your glass of wine was empty!

      • Well, then someone needs to fill it. Quick! :)

  2. I’m reading Angel of Death (at least, I think that’s the title; I don’t have it in front of me right now). I’m pretty slow at reading right now. There are a million things on my plate and it’s tough to get through them. Once June is done, maybe there will be more time.

    • I’m finding myself having the same predicament. Too many work projects and lots of other things to do leave little time to read. I thought I’d get a break but I’m probably going to pick up a new work project that should pay well and keep me busy for a while, and then my friend and I need to work on launching our new business together, so no break for me soon!

Leave a Reply

