WWW Wednesdays – May 16, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

Mermaids in the basement by Michael Lee West– What I’m currently reading
Mermaids in the Basement by Michael Lee West. So far I’m enjoying it, especially since I have no idea where the story is going.
 
– What I recently finished reading

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. What a wonderful book, mixing  words, detailed pencil illustrations, even a few photographs so well. What a beautiful story, where strangers find out they’re all connected in one way or another. What a great mystery to be solved, piece by piece, just like the gears of the automaton Hugo tries to fix. And what great homage to the history of cinema. I recommend this amazing works of art to all children from 8 to 99.
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
My to-read bookshelf is almost empty so I’ll have to see if something new arrived at the library or if I need to pick a book from my own collection.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

Stuck by Oliver JeffersWhat they’re currently reading
Stuck by Oliver Jeffers. We LOVE this book as it is simply hilarious! Floyd’s kite gets stuck in a tree, so the boy tries to knock it down by throwing increasingly larger and more outrageous things. You’d think when he grabs a ladder, and later on a saw, he’d finally use them right. But no, he keeps throwing them up the tree!
Bedhead by Margie Palatini. This book is for anyone who’s ever had a bad hair day, and forgot it was picture day…
Bad Boys Get Cookie! by Margie Palitini. The Bad Boys are back! Wolves Willy and Wally try to satisfy their sweet-tooth craving by chasing down a runaway gingerbread man. Unfortunately they try to attract it by dressing up as Hansel and Gretel, only to run into a witch in front of her gingerbread house who offers them to come inside for some sweets. Very funny!

What they recently finished reading
I’d like to recommend a few books for the younger crowd (age 2-4) we recently read because we really liked them, even though my kids are getting too old for them.
Jazzy in the Jungle by Lucy Cousins. In this book full of die-cut pages, the jungle animals help Mama JoJo find her baby lemur Jazzy.
Wow City! and Wow School! by Robert Neubecker. We’ve read them before so this was a request for seconds (probably thirds). In Wow City! Izzy takes a trip to the big city with her father, and in Wow School! she starts her first day at school. In both books, a yellow dog is hiding somewhere in the picture on every spread. My kids just requested Wow America! again and I just saw that a brand new Wow Ocean! is coming out tomorrow. I’ll have to check my library for this one…

– What I think they’ll read next
I ordered a whole bunch of early reader books so we’ll find out if they’re any good soon enough. What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

31 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – May 16, 2012

  1. Have you read “We need to talk about Kevin”? It’s very disturbing but very interesting.

    • No, I haven’t. Should I? You’re worrying me when describing it as “very disturbing”.

      • Depends on whether you like disturbing stuff. It’s about a difficult mother and son relationship and has a horrible ending so maybe not. I found it very thought-provoking though.

      • Oh, I’m not sure I want to read that right now. It might run my relationship with my kids. :-P
        And I see it deals with a school shooting. We had one of these here almost 10 years ago and I don’t think I want to relive that either. But I’ll take your recommendations for more positive/optimistic reading!

      • Sorry – I’ll try to think of something better – hehe!

      • I just think to save your old soul, you should try to pick up a more optimistic book yourself, to brighten your day somewhat…

      • You’re right – I read that Kevin book way back. Okay I will look at your list!

      • Well, you could start with Life of Pi if you’ve never read it. I recommended to Carrie a couple of months ago (see her review of the book so far in this post’s comments) and she loves it. It’s one of my very favorite books. It’s not as optimistic as other books but it’s written beautifully. Now if you’re looking for a very funny and well written book, try Gone with a handsomer man by Michael Lee West. It is just HILARIOUS!

      • Thanks – I will check these out!

  2. I’m about 2/3 of the way through “Life of Pi” now. It’s so well-written, I feel like I’m in that boat with Pi and Richard Parker. Unfortunately, I usually read during my lunch break, and today that coincided with Pi devouring parts of a live turtle as well as tasting, ahem, Richard Parker’s excrement. Yum. But glad you led me there. :)

    I just imagined how concerning the above paragraph must be to those who haven’t read the book.

    Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, Missy. I needed to get the lead out and read it. Now go respond to the comment I placed on your post 2 days ago before I get a complex, as mine was the only comment you didn’t respond to (and of course, you know I’m kidding–you don’t have to respond; I’m just having fun with you :) )

    • Wait, what comment? I don’t have any comment pending. Which post was that? I don’t want you to feel ignored, I just don’t see it on my side. Maybe you can repost?

    • By the way, I’m really glad you’re enjoying Life of Pi. This is one of the great writings I’ve ever read, almost surreal, magical, just floating on clouds. Yann Martel took forever to come up with his next novel and I haven’t read it yet. When you finish the book (it’s jaw dropping), you’ll understand why it’s a book club favorite. It really is a new classic and what writing is all about.

  3. Catherine Johnson

    You have awesome taste!

  4. Hi Milka,
    Love the books the kids are reading…again, I am always blown away by the wide variety you (and they) choose. I know with all of that reading, you probably don’t have much time for TV viewing (which is good)…did you see the article on The TV Debate on SheKnows.com? http://www.sheknows.com/parenting/articles/959777/is-your-child-watching-too-much-tv

    • My kids sometimes come back from school and ask for books to get from the library they liked at school. Otherwise my picks are very random and I think that’s why I end with so much variety. I’ll pick books by theme, by author, by illustrator, by genre, by reading level… and sometimes I stop by the library and just grab books off the shelf that seem appealing.

      As for watching TV, you’re right, I do very little of it because it can suck up reading time very fast. I actually cancelled cable TV almost 3 years ago as we didn’t have time to watch it. I now watch a few select shows on my computer and none of them are reality shows. ;-) As for my kids they do watch shows every day (during dinnertime because that’s the only way they can sit down for a while), but again it’s a very wide variety of programs. Educational for kids and even grown ups (BBC and National Geographic have great programs), funny cartoons, cool movies, classics, PBS kids shows, Magic school bus, etc. I control what they watch but since there’s so much variety, they get to see a lot about the world and learn a lot too. Way better than just leaving the TV on waiting for a decent show to come up!

  5. Mermaid in the basement looks interesting. Tell me if you like it when you’re done. And I’m glad Carrie’s reading and liking Life of Pi. Her comment quote made me laugh. I just finished Entrapped by Barbara Kyle. It was pretty good. I won it from Carrie’s site when she did an author Q/A with Kyle a few months ago. I’m starting One Bad Twelve by Matt Iden now–another blogger I follow.

  6. Stuck sounds hysterical. Been there . . . done that.

    Frisbee gets stuck . . . then ball . . . then baseball glove . . . frisbee falls down . . . shoe goes up . . . ball comes down . . . glove and shoe still in the tree . . . toss frisbee to knock them down . . . frisbee gets stuck . . .

    • The funny thing is, everything goes up, and nothing ever comes down! Even the kitchen sink goes, then the neighbor’s house, a ship, a whale. When the fire fighters show up, you’d think it’s over but no, Floyd flings everyone up the tree. When he gets the saw, you think this is it, but he throws it too. Somehow the tree is too full and the kite falls down. Floyd goes home to play and at night has a feeling he forgot something (everything & everyone in the tree). I think this might be one of our favorite children’s books this year. Genius, yet so simple…

  7. That Stuck books sounds great. I’ll have to try to find that on our next library trip. We also love Wow! City!, but I didn’t realize there were others in the series. Another few to add to the list. Thanks!

    I just finished Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Marriage Plot and loved it. My husband and I are now reading Sigrid Undset’s Kristin Lavransdatter trilogy. So far, so good!

  8. Pingback: My favorite books of 2012 | Perfecting motherhood

Leave a Reply

