WWW Wednesdays – May 9, 2012

WWW Wednesdays

My bookshelf

The invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick– What I’m currently reading
I’ll be starting The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick tonight. The movie Hugo is based on this book. It’s over 500 pages long but I think half the pages are illustrations so this should be a fast read. I’ll want to find out if my five-year old would be interested in this story (recommendations say age 9+).
 
– What I recently finished reading

Two Truths and A Lie by Sara Shepard, the third book in The Lying Game series. I just finished this book last night. There are so many twists and turns! The previous suspects seem to be exonerated now, and previously exonerated suspects are now back on the list. Can Emma trust anyone in Sutton’s world and will Sutton’s murderer ever be brought to justice? This has to be one of the best murder mystery/thriller series I’ve read in a long time and I can’t wait to read the next one. Hopefully my nails will regrow a bit by then.
 
The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor. Shawn Achor’s writing style is very entertaining and helps get the point across when it comes to the benefits of positive psychology. He describes the seven principles we can follow, both at work and in our daily lives, to retrain our brains and think more positively. I enjoyed some of the exercises he suggests to create a more positive and optimistic mindset. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning more about positive psychology, and even to people who want to figure out why so many individuals walk around with a dark cloud over their heads all the time.
 
 – What I think I’ll read next
I have a few books on my bookshelf but I need to check which one will need to go back to the library first before I start reading.
 
My kids’ bookshelf

What they’re currently reading
Just one bite by Lola SchaeferJust One Bite: 11 Animals and Their Bites at Life Size by Lola Schaefer. This super interesting and beautifully illustrated book shows what 11 animals eat and how much they eat in a single bite. Watch out for the last spread, where a sperm whale sucks in a giant squid in one single bite! And everything in the book is up to scale, yikes!
Tops & Bottoms by Janet Stevens (a Caldecott Honor book). Hare lost his land in a bet with the tortoise and his family is going hunry. But he manages to turn his bad luck around by striking a deal with the land-rich but lazy bear down the road. He will share everything he grows on the bear’s land. Well at least the top or bottom parts… My kids LOVED how smart the hare is, and how the story ends well for everyone.

What they recently finished reading
Ali, Child of the Desert by Jonathan London. On a trip to the Moroccan market town of Rissani, Ali becomes separated from his father during a sandstorm in the Sahara desert. Rescued by a very kind and selfless goatherd and his grandson, Ali needs to decide if he will leave with the goatherd for more fertile lands, or stay until he finds his father, facing possible death. A wonderful, WONDERFUL book about courage, resourcefulness and kindness. Every kid should read this beautiful story.
Bus Ride Bully by Lori Mortensen. Gavin hates riding the bus because Max, the bus bully, is always picking on him. But when Max is gone for a few days, Gavin starts to worry and decides to pay him a visit. That’s when Gavin discovers quite a different Max. A great book on bullying.

– What I think they’ll read next
My request list is getting shorter at the library so I need to order more books, but so far, I’m not sure about the themes to search by.

What about you? Any books you or your kids are reading you’d like to share?

If you enjoyed reading this post and would like to receive future postings, please enter your email address and click the Sign Up button at the top right of this page. Thank you for reading!

6 responses to “WWW Wednesdays – May 9, 2012

  1. I’m glad that you’ve found a series you love. That’s always a thrill for me. Last time for me was Alexander McCall Smith ~ set in Africa and Scotland. Not nail biters, just enjoyable reads.

    Right now, I’m reading a romance set in Scotland, Swept Off Her Feet. It’s a bit like Bridget Jones’ Diary ~ light humor, light romance.

  2. Okay, Missy, you’ll be happy. I finally started reading “Life of Pi.” Is a little slow early on, but what amazing writing. I’m about 60 pages in. Glad you recommended it. :)

  3. Pingback: The pursuit of happiness | Perfecting motherhood

  4. Pingback: How full is your bucket? | Perfecting Motherhood

Leave a Reply

