Oops, did I just hear the F word?

A few days ago my four-year old got in trouble at preschool for bossing the other kids around. The teacher was getting the classroom ready for an obstacle course and the kids were being pretty loud and rambunctious. So my son decided to take the matter in his own hands and tell his classmates to “shut up!”. I don’t know if he was effective but it didn’t go well with his teacher, who relayed the incident to me. He seems to be going through a “testing” stage right now and likes to assume his individuality and test boundaries, which can get on my nerves but I know he’ll eventually get over it.

I figured out the best thing to do would be to have him apologize to his teacher about telling the other kids to shut up. So we walked into the classroom the next morning while the teacher was alone and the other kids were standing outside. I asked my son what he had to say to his teacher.

“Sorry,” he said in a shy voice.

“Sorry for what?” I asked.

“Sorry for saying f&*^%ing.”

Oops, did I just hear the F word? Fortunately his teacher seems to have a good sense of humor because she couldn’t help but burst out laughing. As for me, I thought it was pretty f&*^%ing funny too! What can I say, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree… This one will definitely make it to my Kids Say the Darndest Things list.

Kid swearing cartoon

16 responses to “Oops, did I just hear the F word?

  1. Very funny!! I wonder about these kinds of moments for my future.

    http://www.hecticharmony.net

    • No matter what parents think, their kids will hear bad words at one point or another. I’d rather they heard the words from me first and understand to avoid their use in public. Unfortunately it doesn’t always work that way!

  2. I think this means you better start cursing in French around your home. At least then, the teacher won’t know what he’s saying.

    Very funny!

    • But I do swear in French! And they sometimes do too but only at home. They’re usually pretty good about keeping the bad words at home, so it was quite surprising to hear it blurbed out at school! I’ve never been against sheltering my kids from bad words. I’d rather they learned the words and their meanings from me rather than from someone else. They know swears are not appropriate in public but they sometimes battle it out at home, in a fun way.

  3. How hilarious!!!

  4. Ha ha ha!! I bet that was a bit embarrassing! I’m sorry for laughing but I’m so glad these thins don’t just happen to me!! ;-)

  5. Your blog is wonderful! I’m still smiling at “Did I just Hear the F-word” and “Mama, I want to marry you.” Delightful reminders of the challenges and wonders of being moms…and grandmothers. Thank you!

    • Thank you for your kind compliment! Motherhood is quite challenging, rewarding and surprising in more ways than one. Even if my kids can drive me nuts sometimes, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  6. This is hysterical! :lol:

    And the title caught my eye because I used the F-word on SLTW for the first time just the other day. Sometimes no other word will suffice.

    • Isn’t it? The thing is, my kids know how to use the swear words in an appropriate context, to express frustration, shock, anger or disappointment. And you’re right, sometimes they just are the perfect words. They’re part of the language and I believe no word should be tatoo when it comes to teaching my kids a wide vocabulary. Better hear it from me than someone else and then misunderstand the meaning!

Leave a Reply

