How to have a memorable start of the week

After a two-week hiatus for Spring break, my boys went back to school this morning. My five-year old starts at 8:15am so his brother and I drove to school to drop him off first. The two of us then go back to my car and read books while waiting for preschool to start 30 minutes later.

I had parked a little far away from the school so I gave my son the option to drive into the school parking lot when the time came. Except, I didn’t plan on my car not to start. Nooooooooooo! I had power and I could hear some electronic noises as I turned the key in the ignition, but it was still a no-go.

So we walked to class while the wheels in my head started spinning. I had planned to stop by my P.O. box to collect an overdue client’s check, bring all of my payments to the bank, stop by the library to drop off books and get new ones, inquire about summer camps, even do some work… Of course it would all have to wait until I found out what was wrong with my car. 

As we were walking, I heard my little guy express some concern. If my car was going to need repair, how would I pick up his brother from school and get everybody home? I loved to see how concerned he was about his brother’s well-being. I didn’t have the heart to tell him he gets picked up two hours before his brother, so I may have a problem…

Back in my car, I called Ford Roadside Assistance. They promised me a tow truck in 45 minutes. It arrives in just 20. The tow truck driver inquired about my car trouble. I demonstrated the no-start feature and he guessed the battery was probably dead. But I still have power, I said! Can you guess I don’t know much about cars? For my defense, the last time I had a dead battery, the car was completely dead – no vital signs whatsoever. The driver brought jumper cables over, connected them to my battery and asked me to start the car. Vrooooom! Halleluyah!

Damn car battery, dead after only 20,000 miles. I’ll blame three people for this. My two kids for leaving the overhead lights on overnight too many times. How many times have I asked you to turn off those lights? You’re going to drain my battery. Well, you’ve done it now! Of course, I should also blame myself for leaving the car doors and trunk open all the time when the car is parked in the garage. And for leaving the radio and fan on every day when I stay in the car with my youngest before preschool.

I thanked Akram, my Middle-Eastern tow truck driver, for saving the day. This guy had the most mesmerizing golden eyes I’ve ever seen. So cool looking I really wanted to take a picture of them. Come on, what’s my chance of meeting someone with such rare eye color ever again? But I didn’t want to look more looney than I already appeared, so I got back in my car and drove off. Instead I took a picture of this very cute rabbit, who was having a feeding frenzy while I was waiting for the tow truck.

White tail jack rabbit in San Diego

White tail jack rabbit in San Diego

I drove to Pepboys and got a new car battery in just 45 minutes, leaving me enough time to run a few of my errands before picking up my four-year old from preschool at noon. Not bad after such a bumpy start.

Happy Monday, everyone!

10 responses to “How to have a memorable start of the week

  1. He probably would have been flattered that you wanted a photo of his eyes. Then you could have posted it on your blog for all of us to see. :)

    Glad you got your car back in working condition. At least it was nothing more concerning (knock on wood).

    • I really feel like I missed my opportunity with that picture. Those eyes were such an interesting and unusual color. As for my car, it is only 20,000 miles so I hope nothing bad happens to it for a while. I’m sure it will wait for the warranty to run out until it does…

  2. You better go and find golden eyes because we are now all very curious!

  3. I’m glad it was just the battery. In Vegas, I went through batteries like candy. The heat sapped them! Great story to start out your week!

    • I’m sure it could be the heat here too. My husband suspected it’s all the short trips I take every day, when the battery doesn’t have a lot of time to recharge while I drive. It’s definitely not the first battery that died on me since I’ve lived in California.

  4. Sounds like some preventative measures are needed:
    * lights out . . . check!
    * trunk closed . . . check!
    * doors closed . . . check!

    Aah . . . that’s better!

  5. Apparently it is worth turning off the lights and radio etc before you turn off the engine. Then when you restart you are only restarting the engine and not all the other drains on its power at the same time.
    Harder to remember though than it is to say it. Tell the kids its their job to remind you so the battery stays fresh for longer!

    • Oh, and I’ve started the car many times with the A/C on, which probably doesn’t help. At least I know to take care of this battery better now, and I’ve got a three-year free replacement, just in case. ;-)

Leave a Reply

