WordPress weekly photo challenge: Arranged

Have you noticed how little kids enjoy arranging their toys a certain way? They tend to align them one by one in a long straight line, establish patterns, or put them in a circle. Why they can be so neat while playing but leave a complete mess when they’re done is beyond me. Unfortunately, I’ve never taken a picture of such toy arrangements with my kids, but when I saw WordPress’s weekly photo challenge theme, I knew exactly which photo to pick for the occasion.

I’m going to say something that may sound foreign to you if you don’t live in the Southwest U.S., but the San Diego skies can go for months without displaying a single cloud. As a kid growing up in the suburbs of Paris, I LOVED looking at puffy clouds and find familiar shapes. Even though these opportunities are rare today, I still love to look up and encourage my kids to look for shapes with me. Here’s another look at an elephant cloud I spotted once, in case you missed it the first time (and if you missed my orange chicken pig, I promise you it’s worth seeing).

Since San Diego doesn’t get much rain, fluffy clouds are rare and instead we often get a low cover of grey clouds. We didn’t get a lot of rain this past winter but I still enjoyed seeing a good amount of puffy clouds. And one special day I happened to spot clouds in a very unusual pattern. I was driving on the freeway and had a less than average cell phone camera with me, which doesn’t do the scenery justice. But I still felt compelled to capture the moment. I present you a train of clouds. Just like the “twelve little girls in two straight lines” in the children’s book Madeline, these puffy little clouds were arranged in one long straight line, way longer than what my camera was able to capture. Who knew clouds could be so docile?

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: Arranged

Wordpress weekly photo challenge: Arranged

8 responses to “WordPress weekly photo challenge: Arranged

  1. That is a neat photo. And such a blue sky!

    I attended a conference in San Diego a few years back. It was 74 degrees and sunny with a beautiful blue sky. I remember the speaker, who happened to be local, ask how we liked the weather. When the audience replied that we loved it, he said, “Welcome to San Diego. It’s like this every day.” That’s when I fell even more in love with the city. :)

    • I’ve been to a lot of places and never find a bluer sky than here. It must be a combination of the low latitude and the hills to the west of me to block the moisture from the ocean. The weather certainly is the main reason I moved here over 14 years ago but the city of San Diego actually get a lot of clouds, mostly from the marine layer. The worst months are May Grey and June Gloom and I feel sorry for the tourists who pick that time of the year to come here. Most days the marine layer doesn’t lift off. I’m lucky to live east of San Diego and the marine layer don’t linger past mid morning, so I get beautiful sun almost every day. :-)

  2. Catherine Johnson

    That’s so cool. Cloud pictures are my second favorite behind tree pictures.

    • I agree with you, although I also like flower pictures and there are way more flowers here than trees! I have taken some beautiful pictures of flowers and I hope some of the weekly photo challenges give me the opportunity to showcase them.

  3. I’m always struck by how enormous the sky feels in the Southwest and I love the way you captured that in your photo. I also really like the idea of the clouds lining up like the girls in Madeline (a favorite book around here). :)

  4. Love your observation . . . spot on!

    Have you noticed how little kids enjoy arranging their toys a certain way? They tend to align them one by one in a long straight line, establish patterns, or put them in a circle. Why they can be so neat while playing but leave a complete mess when they’re done is beyond me.

    One of life’s mysteries . . . tidy at play, messy at rest. :lol:

    • And don’t you dare move their toys in the middle of their play! I can’t complain too much though. As they’re getting older, they’re helping me clean up pretty well. Or else I threaten to put their toys in a big bag in timeout in the garage. That works pretty well too.

Leave a Reply

